Super League club confirms the departures of FOUR star players

Warrington Wolves, Leeds Rhinos, Wigan Warriors and others have made some big signings for the 2024 season.

But part of recruitment is inevitably exits and one Super League club has confirmed six departures four of which are marquee players.

This is the Warrington Wolves who have signed Rodrick Tai and Lachlan Fitzgibbon for next year and are expected to sign Zane Musgrove, Morgan Harper and Brad Dwyer.

Toby King is also returning to the club for next year after a loan at Wigan.

Peter Mata’utia, Daryl Clark, Thomas Mikaele, Greg Minikin, Jack Darbyshire and Aiden Doolan will all leave the club.

Mata’utia joined the club at the start of the 2022 season and has made 54 appearances for the Wire to date. He has played a big role off the field too, forming an integral part of our leadership group over the last two seasons.

Minikin also joined at the start of last season and showed his commitment and dedication to overcome an ACL injury before making his debut last July. He’s made 20 appearances for the club to date.

It was confirmed earlier this year that hooker Clark will leave the club to join St Helens. Our no.9 has made 240 appearances in primrose and blue, scoring 51 tries. He famously scored the decisive try in our 2019 Challenge Cup Final win over Saints where he also picked up the Lance Todd trophy for a man-of-the-match display.

Clark will lead out the team as captain in his final home game tomorrow night against St Helens.

Mikaele rejoined the club last month on a short-term deal and has made 23 appearances across his two spells with the Wire. He will return to Australia at the end of the year.

Academy graduates Jack Darbyshire and Aiden Doolan will also depart for new opportunities in 2024.

A special presentation will be made following full-time of our final home game of the regular season against St Helens this Friday night where fans can show their appreciation.

We would like to thank all of our departing players for their effort and commitment during their time with the Wire and we wish them all the best in their next chapters.