Connect with us

Rugby League News

The horrific reason Kevin Sinfield wasn’t awarded a knighthood

Rugby union journalist David Walsh has revealed the horrific reason why Leeds Rhinos legends Kevin Sinfield and Rob Burrow weren’t given knighthoods.

Walsh was responding to the news that rugby union figure Bill Beaumont was essentially awarded a second knighthood whilst Burrow and Sinfield, who have raised £15 million in the fight against Motor Neurone Disease which Burrow has been fighting himself since he was diagnosed back in December 2019.

The two are being awarded a CBE each in 2024. Sinfield was awarded an MBE for his playing career before an OBE for his charity efforts in the MND community. Burrow was awarded an MBE for his courageous battle against MND as well.

But still knighthoods allude them and Walsh has tried to explain starting his brilliant piece in the Times with the following disclaimer so to speak:

“It is sensible not to attach much importance to the annual honours’ list. For all the worthy recipients, there are some who get there by dint of a political donation or having some kind of relationship with a brazen former prime minister. I’m not sure what to think about the latest abuse, the already infamous 11 recipients of Liz Truss’s patronage.

“Should we feel a certain sympathy for their new-found notoriety or disgust that they hadn’t the wit to say no? As for bestowing titles on athletes for services to their particular sport, at the very least this is questionable. For being good footballers or runners or cricketers, athletes are handsomely rewarded. Some earn millions, almost all enjoy the privilege of being able to make the list.”

He then went on to explain that the reason Kevin Sinfield and Rob Burrow weren’t given knighthoods is because rugby league, unlike rugby union, isn’t part of the establishment so to speak meaning they are not recognised in the same way as rugby union and other sports.

Either way it is truly disappointing to see the duo, who are the most deserving of anyone, to once again miss out on knighthoods as we head into 2024 and even though they will receive a CBE the wait for knighthoods will go on.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News