Connect with us

Rugby League News

Challenge Cup opening round draw details with Josh Charnley’s role revealed

It has been announced that rounds one and two of the 2024 Challenge Cup will be made on Tuesday December 5th, live on BBC Radio Manchester by one of last season’s standout winners Josh Charnley.

Charnley had a stellar Challenge Cup campaign helping the Leopards make it to Wembley where they edged out Hull KR 17-16 in golden point drama.

That saw the flying winger lift the tournament for the fourth time and he will now be in charge of announcing the draws for both round one and round two early next week.

As such the dates for the opening two rounds have also been confirmed with the weekend of 13th and 14th of January being when round one takes place, whilst a fortnight later on the 27th and 28th the second round will commence.

The RFL confirmed the news via their website with details of which 20 community clubs will be in the hat for the first round, before then being joined by 10 National Conference League sides in round two.

A statement read: “The draws for rounds 1 and 2 of the 2024 Betfred Challenge Cup will be made live on BBC Radio Manchester at 6.40pm on Tuesday 5 December.

“20 clubs from the community and Armed Forces will be in the hat for Round 1, which takes place on the weekend of 13/14 January. The winners of the 10 Round 1 ties will be joined at Round 2 by 10 clubs from the National Conference League, with ties held over the weekend of 27/28 January.

“Josh Charnley, from cup holders Leigh Leopards, will conduct both draws in the company of Radio Manchester’s regular Rugby League broadcaster Trevor Hunt, a lifelong supporter of the community game who in January will become Vice-President of the RFL.

“Among the teams to look out for in Round 1 are 2023 North West Men’s League Champions Ashton Bears and reigning Yorkshire Men’s League Champions Fryston Warriors, plus Medway Dragons from Kent and the South Wales Jets who are among those entering the competition for the very first time.”

Following the first two rounds 22 teams from both League One and the Championship will join the draw, with those fixtures taking place a week before the launch of Super League on the 10th and 11th of February.

Round One Draw Numbers

1. Ashton Bears (North West)

2. British Army (Armed Forces)

3. Clock Face Miners (NCL Division One)

4. Doncaster Toll Bar (Yorkshire)

5. Edinburgh Eagles (Scotland)

6. Fryston Warriors (Yorkshire)

7. Hammersmith Hills Hoists (Southern Conference League)

8. Haresfinch (BARLA)

9. Heworth (NCL Premier Division)

10. Lowca (CARLA)

11. Medway Dragons (Harry Jepson Trophy)

12. Newsome Panthers (Yorkshire)

13. Orrell St James (North West)

14. Oulton Raiders (NCL Division One)

15. Royal Air Force (Armed Forces)

16. Royal Navy (Armed Forces)

17. South Wales Jets (Wales)

18. Stanningley (NCL Division One)

19. West Bowling (NCL Premier Division)

20. Wests Warriors (Southern Conference League)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Rugby League News