Ex-Leeds Rhinos & Warrington Wolves man to present huge award as St Helens legend on selection panel

The Golden Boot, one of the game’s oldest and most prestigious awards, will be presented to the Men’s, Women’s and Wheelchair international player of the year at Midlands Hotel, Manchester on Tuesday, November 15.

After recently announcing a long list for the Men’s Golden Boot, a panel of leading journalists and commentators from Australia, England and New Zealand has helped produce a short list of five nominees.

Golden Cap recipients Cameron Smith (Australia), James Graham (England) and Ruben Wiki (New Zealand) will choose the winner.

The award will be presented by another Golden Cap recipient Adrian Morley, who – along with Smith, Graham and Wiki – is just one of nine players to have played 50 or more Tests.

Addo-Carr has had an outstanding World Cup and will head into this weekend’s final against Toa Samoa at Old Trafford in pursuit of a record 13th try for the tournament.

Luai has steered Samoa to an historic berth in the World Cup final – the first tier two country to achieve the feat – after his starring role in the Pacific nation’s stunning quarter-final and semi-final defeats of Tonga and England.

Manu has been a revelation at fullback for the Kiwis – a position he doesn’t usually play at club level – and was a stand-out in the mid-season Test against Tonga, as well and each of the team’s World Cup matches.

Radley has added another dimension to England’s forward pack with his ball playing skills and aggression in defence after turning down the chance to play State of Origin in order to represent his English heritage.

Warrington Wolves Williams has been the conductor and creator of the England attack, creating tries for his outside backs with vision and clever passing or using his running game to set up support players.

Leeds Rhinos legend Kevin Sinfield and St Helens star Tommy Makinson were the last English winners.

Men’s long list: Josh Addo-Carr (Australia), Tom Burgess (England), Ben Garcia (France), Harry Grant (Australia), Jahrome Hughes (New Zealand), Edwin Ipape (Papua New Guinea), Keaon Koloamatangi (Tonga), Jarome Luai (Samoa), Joey Manu (New Zealand), Mitchell Moses (Lebanon), Cameron Munster (Australia), Victor Radley (England), Joran Schoenmaker (Netherlands), Brandon Smith (New Zealand), Jaydn Su’A (Samoa), Joseph Sua’ali’i (Samoa), Brian To’o (Samoa), Sunia Turuva (Fiji), George Williams (England).

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments