England second in Inaugural Wheelchair rankings

The first ever wheelchair rankings have been revealed today by International Rugby League.

As the current World Cup holders, France are top. Disability Rugby League was created by French player Robert Fassolette and creator of wheelchair sevens Wally Salvan in 2004.

England are second, after a fantastic recent run, which has seen them beat France in Apt last year, before going on a successful tour of Australia.

English player James Brown was also awarded the inaugural Wheelchair Golden Boot award earlier this year.

Wales, Australia, Italy, Scotland, Spain and Ireland complete the top eight.

The rankings are worked out in the same way mens and women’s rankings are. Only full internationals are considered over the last four years. They also include the strength of opponent and the weight of the result.

Pippa Britton, who chairs the IRL Wheelchair Working Group, said: “This is another welcome advance for Wheelchair Rugby League as we prepare for RLWC2021 where all the athletes will be treated equally.”

Full Rankings:

1 France (100%)

2 England (97%)

3 Wales (77%)

4 Australia (46%)

5 Italy (43%)

6 Scotland (29%)

7 Spain (25%)

8 Ireland (14%)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments