Connect with us

Super League

The Leeds Rhinos stars with the best chance at winning the Man of Steel

Rugby league is littered with prestigious awards.

There is the golden boot award for the best international player, the Harry Sunderland Award is given to the man who stands out in the Super League Grand Final, the Lance Todd trophy goes to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

But the Steve Prescott Man of Steel is the biggest individual honour a Super League player can pick up.

In most sports, the player of the year exclusively goes to a team from the Champions, but not in rugby league.

In 2022 the Man of Steel came from sixth, in 2020 from eighth and in 2011 the Man of Steel winner finished ninth in the league.

So, any team can have a player who wins the Man of Steel so we’re looking at every club’s biggest chance at winning the honour in 2023.

So, which Leeds Rhinos player stands out as their best chance at winning the Man of Steel?

Remarkably, despite their success, the Rhinos have only had two winners during Super League history.

Iestyn Harris won the award in 1998 and Zak Hardaker followed suit in 2015.

Right now Aidan Sezer is one of the favourites for the honour whilst Mikolaj Oledzki would have a great chance though his injury has been a set back.

But there is one man who would be a front runner if he stays fit and that is of course Harry Newman.

One of the league’s best players when fully fit, he would have likely been in the running last year had we seen him at his best every week instead of just glimpses.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League