Connect with us

Super League

The Hull FC stars who could win the Man of Steel

Rugby league is littered with prestigious awards.

There is the golden boot award for the best international player, the Harry Sunderland Award is given to the man who stands out in the Super League Grand Final, the Lance Todd trophy goes to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

But the Steve Prescott Man of Steel is the biggest individual honour a Super League player can pick up.

In most sports, the player of the year exclusively goes to a team from the Champions, but not in rugby league.

In 2022 the Man of Steel came from sixth, in 2020 from eighth and in 2011 the Man of Steel winner finished ninth in the league.

So, any team can have a player who wins the Man of Steel so we’re looking at every club’s biggest chance at winning the honour in 2023.

So, which Hull FC player stands out as their best chance at winning the Man of Steel?

Only one Hull FC has ever won the Man of Steel and that was Danny Houghton in 2016.

But which of Tony Smith’s squad has the best chance of emulating Houghton in 2023?

Perhaps its Hull’s two big signings from the NRL in the shape of Jake Clifford and Tex Hoy.

These two will form a formidable partnership in 2023 and will be the bedrock of Hull’s success in 2023.

If they do lead Hull to success in 2023, one of them could scoop the Man of Steel award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Super League