Connect with us

Rugby League World Cup

Scotland struck by huge blow ahead of Australia clash but include ex-Warrington Wolves and Leeds Rhinos men

Scotland have named their squad for what should be one of the most exciting challenges in their history as they take on World Cup holders Australia in Coventry on Friday night.

Scotland have hung with the very best before holding New Zealand to a remarkable draw back in 2016. Can they do the same again on Friday against Mal Meninga’s Australia?

After defeat against Italy on Sunday in which they struggled to find attacking rhythm, they’ll need something incredible special to challenge the star-studded Australian side but Scotland have stars of their own.

Former Wigan and Warrington outside back Matty Russell is again included in the squad and will be joined on the wings by the very dangerous Lachlan Walmsley.

In a major blow, the Scots are without their star man in Salford star Ryan Brierley which will leave extra pressure on Bailey Hayward at six and ex-Leeds Rhinos and current Wakefield man Liam Hood at hooker.

Hull KR duo Kane Linnett and Sam Luckely will look to lead the way in the pack whilst James Bell of St Helens will provide class at 13.

Skipper and former Huddersfield Giant Dale Ferguson has escaped a ban and will feature.

Here’s the full squad:

2 Matty Russell
3 Ben Hellewell
4 Keiran Buchanan
5 Lachlan Walmsley
6 Bailey Hayward
8 Logan Bayliss-Brow
9 Liam Hood
10 Sam Luckley
11 Euan Aitken
12 Kane Linnett
13 James Bell
14 Kyle Schneider
15 Luke Bain
18 Jack Teanby
19 Calum Gahan
20 Davey Dixon
22 Alex Walker
23 Bayley Liu
24 Dale Ferguson

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League World Cup