Connect with us

Rugby League World Cup

New Zealand hand out debuts as Kiwis and Jamaica name squads for clash at Hull FC’s MKM Stadium

The second round of World Cup group stage action kicks off for Group C on Saturday evening when New Zealand take on Jamaica.

Both Squads have been named, in a game that will see the two nations play each other for the first time ever.

The Kiwis, who defeated Lebanon in their opening game, come into this match as huge favourites, with the number one-ranked nation expected to put on a show at Hull’s MKM Stadium against World Cup debutants Jamaica, who were soundly beaten by Ireland on Sunday.

New Zealand

The Kiwis have made four changes to the squad that beat Lebanon on Sunday. Ronaldo Mulitalo, Jahrome Hughes, Joseph Tapine and Jordan Rapana all come out of the side, the latter scored 14 of the Kiwis’ 34 points over the Cedars.

The quartet are replaced by Isaac Liu, Jeremy Marshall-King, Scott Sorensen and Sebastian Kris. Sorensen and Kris are yet to make their Kiwi debut.

Sorensen will become the fifth member of the Sorensen family to represent New Zealand at test level and was a try scorer in the NRL Grand Final for Penrith. He will start on the bench on Saturday.

Kris, however, is an outside back who plays for Canberra Raiders and will form a new partnership with Marata Niukore as the pair line up on the right edge together.


The Reggae Warriors will be looking to pull off one of the World Cup’s biggest ever upsets with a win over the Kiwis. But after a 48-2 thrashing at the hands of Ireland, it looks like an impossible task.

Romeo Monteith has made two changes from the defeat at Headingley, with Khamisi McKain and Joel Farrell coming into the side to replace Ross Peltier and Abevia McDonald.

McKain plays in the Jamaican domestic league and his preferred position is second row. Farrell plays for Championship side Sheffield Eagles and has played for Jamaica since 2015.

Full Squads for the game

New Zealand

1. Joey Manu
2. Sebastian Kris
3. Marata Niukore
4. Peta Hiku
5. Dallin Watene-Zelezniak
6. Dylan Brown
7. Kieran Foran
8. Moses Leota
9. Brandon Smith
10. James Fisher-Harris
11. Kenny Bromwich
12. Briton Nikora
13. Isaac Liu
14. Isiah Papali’i
15. Nelson Asofa-Solomona
16. Jeremy Marshall-King
17. Scott Sorensen
18. Charnze Nicoll=Klokstad
19. Jesse Bromwich


1. Ben Jones-Bishop
2. Mo Agoro
3. Greg Johnson
4. Jacob Ogden
5. Alex Young
6. James Woodburn-Hall
7. Kieran Rush
8. Jordan Andrade
9. Ashton Golding
10. Michael Lawrence
11. AJ Wallace
12. Chevaughn Bailey
13. Joe Brown
14. Aaron Jones-Bishop
15. Bradley Ho
16. Keenen Tomlinson
17. Joel Farrell
18. Andrew Simpson
19. Khamisi McKain

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League World Cup