Connect with us

Super League

Mikolaj Oledzki follows in the footsteps of two legends as he picks up deserved honour

Prop Mikolaj Oledzki has been been named Leeds Rhinos Player of the Year for the second consecutive year at the club’s annual awards.

Oledzki, follows in the footsteps of Iestyn Harris and Jamie Peacock by winning the award twice in a row.

Top try scorer Ash Handley was named in second place and Rhyse Martin who broke the record for most consecutive goals in a season came in third place.

Aidan Sezer won the vote for the Leeds Building Society Try of the Season for his his dramatic try against Castleford to secure a famous win for the Rhinos.

The last winner before Oledzki scooped the honour in 2022 and 2021 was fellow prop Matt Prior.

He won the honour ahead of Ash Handley and then skipper Luke Gale in 2020 after the club had won the Challenge Cup.

This time the awarded was presented to him in Australia by former Leeds skipper Trent Merrin who had left the club the year previously.

Young star Jarrord O’Connor, who continued his rise in the Rhinos side last season, was named the Shooting Star.

Leeds Rhinos Women’s head coach Lois Forsell also confirmed their top performers of the season.  England international Hanna Butcher won the Players Player of the Year and Caitlin Beever won the Coaches Player of the Year and Fans Player of the Year award.  Fran Goldthorp won the fans’ vote for Try of the Year for one of the season for her winning try against ok St Helens.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League