Connect with us

Super League

Mark Applegarth gives important update on Wakefield Trinity star signing as Leeds Rhinos clash looms

On Monday Wakefield Trinity finally confirmed former NRL star Kevin Proctor’s squad number for 2023.

The former NRL winner with Melbourne Storm and Gold Coast Titans joins the club ahead of the new season and the former New Zealand international takes on the number 19 shirt for the new season after Liam Kay left the shirt number to take on the number 15 shirt.

He becomes only the second signing to receive a squad number after Renouf Atoni received the number 17.

Now, Mark Applegarth has given an important update on their star signing who was supposed to arrive in the country at the start of December but has yet to do so.

“Kevin Proctor comes over on the 27th, there was a bit of a hold up getting some of his family a visa,” Applegarth said on BBC Radio Leeds meaning Proctor of course won’t feature against Leeds Rhinos on Boxing Day but the wheels are turning and now he has a squad number for the new season.

Meanwhile, Trinity will have Max Jowitt wearing number one, Jorge Taufua at two with Tom Lineham beating star youngster Lewis Murphy to the number five shirt.

Ex-Leeds Rhinos man Corey Hall takes three with Reece Lyne, the former Hull FC centre who is celebrating a testimonial, keeps four with new signing Samisoni Langi overlooked.

Speaking of overlooking new signings, Morgan Smith missed out on six with former Huddersfield Giants halfback Lee Gaskell taking on six having worn 17 last year.

Mason Lino has kept seven whilst Eddie Battye was yesterday confirmed as keeping the number eight also ahead of Atoni.

Battye took on the eight shirt left by David Fifita who in his last season moved back to 35 last year.

Battye will now keep it again in 2023 as Atoni’s shirt number remains unclear with Jai Whitbread taking Tinirau Arona’s number 10 in 2023.

Liam Hood has kept nine. Ashurst has kept 11 with Kelepi Tanginoa still at 12 and Jay Pitts at 13 all of whom have beaten new signing Kevin Proctor to their respective squad numbers.

Jordy Crowther has also kept 14 and Liam Kay has moved up to 15.

Ex-Hull FC man Josh Bowden will wear the number 16 shirt and Renouf Atoni is the only new signing to receive a shirt number at 17 and Lee Kershaw remains at 18.

Meanwhile, new signings Samisoni Langi and Morgan Smith are yet to receive squad numbers.

Here’s their confirmed squad numbers for 2023:

1 Max Jowitt
2 Jorge Taufua
3 Corey Hall
4 Reece Lyne
5 Tom Lineham
6 Lee Gaskell
7 Mason Lino
8 Eddie Battye
9 Liam Hood
10 Jai Whitbread
11 Matty Ashurst
12 Kelepi Tanginoa
13 Jay Pitts
14 Jordy Crowther
15 Liam Kay
16 Josh Bowden
17 Renouf Atoni
18 Lee Kershaw
19 Kevin Proctor
20 Morgan Smith

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League