Connect with us

Super League

Huddersfield v Wigan: 21-man squads and injury update

Huddersfield and Wigan have both announced their 21-man squads for Friday night’s round nine clash at the John Smith’s Stadium (KO 7:45pm).

The game was due to be played back at the start of June before being postponed due to positive COVID-19 tests within the Giants’ camp.

The two sides only met last Sunday, with the Warriors taking the spoils in a tight affair that ended 16-12 at the DW Stadium.

It was the Giants’ fifth straight defeat, while they have now dropped down to second bottom in the Super League table following Salford’s win over Castleford.

The Warriors, meanwhile, are in fifth, with Sunday’s victory their first since mid-May.

Huddersfield Giants

Joe Greenwood is one of four players to drop out for the Giants after picking up a three-match ban for dangerous contact. Ricky Leutele, Louis Senior and Olly Ashall-Bott are also unavailable. Youngsters Aidan McGowan and Fenton Rogers are called up as Ian Watson names an initial 17-man squad, with further additions to be made pending RFL clearance. There’s still no Kenny Edwards (suspended), Darnell McIntosh (achilles), Aidan Sezer (ankle), Adam O’Brien (shoulder), Joe Wardle (ankle), Jack Cogger (foot), Lee Gaskell, Michael Lawrence, Oliver Wilson, Owen Trout, James Cunningham or Matty English.

17-man squad: 1 Ashton Golding, 2 Jermaine McGillvary, 3 Jake Wardle, 8 Luke Yates, 13 Josh Jones, 17 Chris McQueen, 21 Leroy Cudjoe, 22 James Gavet, 23 Oliver Russell, 27 Sam Wood, 28 Sam Hewitt, 32 Will Pryce, 33 Robson Stevens, 34 Nathaniel Peteru, 35 Nathan Peats, 36 Fenton Rogers, 37 Aidan McGowan.

Wigan Warriors

Ollie Partington (head) and Ethan Havard (suspended) both return for the Warriors, as does young outside back Sam Halsall, who has spent the past few weeks on loan at Newcastle Thunder. Jackson Hastings is the only player to drop out as he serves a one-match ban for other contrary conduct. There’s still no Willie Isa (suspended), John Bateman (ankle), Dom Manfredi (knee), Bevan French (hamstring), Zak Hardaker (neck), Jai Field (hamstring) or Morgan Smithies (ankle).

20-man squad: 4 Oliver Gildart, 5 Liam Marshall, 7 Thomas Leuluai, 8 Brad Singleton, 9 Sam Powell, 10 Joe Bullock, 12 Liam Farrell, 14 Ollie Partington, 17 Tony Clubb, 19 Liam Byrne, 20 Harry Smith, 21 Ethan Havard, 22 Jake Bibby, 23 Mitch Clark, 25 Joe Shorrocks, 27 Kai Pearce-Paul, 28 Sam Halsall, 29 James McDonnell, 30 Umyla Hanley, 34 Brad O’Neill.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League