Connect with us

Super League

Huddersfield Giants vs Castleford Tigers: Kick-off time, TV channel and predicted line-ups

Today we’re treated to a West Yorkshire derby between two sides who went into 2022 with play-off aspirations.

After four games, Huddersfield are the side who look more like play-off candidates with three wins from four and a thumping win over Salford last week. In good shape, they’ll be hoping for a fourth win from five to start the season.

As for Castleford, things finally got going for the Tigers in Round Four as Lee Radford guided his side to a win over his former team Hull FC. Can they maintain that momentum at the John Smith’s Stadium this afternoon?

Kick-off time and TV channel

The game kicks off at 3:15 this afternoon.

TV coverage will start at 3pm on Sky Sports Arena.

Predicted line-ups

Huddersfield Giants
After such a resounding win over Salford last week, expect little in the way of change from Ian Watson. Tui Lolohea will stay at fullback with Will Pryce and Oliver Russell in the halves with Theo Fages still unavailable. A big boost will come in the shape of Danny Levi’s return to the number nine role which will likely see Adam O’Brien move to the bench. Sebastine Ikahihifo will make his 100th appearance.

6 Tui Lolohea
2 Jermaine McGillvary
21 Leroy Cudjoe
4 Ricky Leutele
25 Innes Senior
1 Will Pryce
23 Oliver Russell
8 Chris Hill
9 Danny Levi
17 Owen Trout
12 Chris McQueen
24 Oliver Roberts
13 Luke Yates
14 Matty English
18 Sebastine Ikahihifo
19 Adam O’Brien
20 Oliver Wilson

Castleford Tigers
Lee Radford named a very unusual team for the contest against Hull FC. I expect a slightly more conventional side this time out but one that maintains the themes of last week’s victorious side. Gareth O’Brien will remain at fullback whilst Jake Mamo’s return could see Jordan Turner move into the halves moving Paul McShane back to nine allowing George Lawler to return to a more natural position. Kenny Edwards and Liam Watts are also back to provide some bite in the pack whilst Cain Robb will offer explosivity off the bench.

31 Gareth o’Brien
2 Derrell Olpherts
17 Mahe Fonua
4 Jake Mamo
23 Greg Eden
6 Jake Trueman
3 Jordan Turner
22 Daniel Smith
9 Paul McShane
25 Suaia Matagi
11 Kenny Edwards
21 Alex Sutcliffe
13 Joe Westerman
8 Liam Watts
10 George Lawler
24 Cheyse Blair
32 Cain Robb

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League