After the Rugby League World Cup Final, it was only Angus Crichton who received a ban.
The Australia backrower was sin binned for hitting Chanel Harris-Tavita in the head during the second half.
Many felt he should have been red carded for the incident but in the end he only received a yellow.
Samoa boss Matt Parish was not happy with the decision to only show him a yellow. He said: “Our hooker gets elbowed in the head and carted off and the referee makes a weak decision and puts him in the bin.
“Elbow to the head and he gets taken off the field, what do you think?”
When Australia boss Meninga was informed of these comments about the incident, he said: “Seriously? My view was that he should have stayed on the field. We handled it really well. It was our best 10 minutes of the game, our defence, we just kept turning up for each other.”
He ultimately received a two-match suspension which was set to eat into his time with Sydney Roosters.
However, he is now appealing the decision but the appeal itself is set to be delayed due to travel arrangements.
In a statement from the World Cup, this was confirmed:
Angus Crichton (Australia) is challenging the two match penalty notice which he was issued for a Grade B Reckless Strike during Saturday’s RLWC2021 final.
Due to travel arrangements, the challenge will be heard later this week and the outcome will be published on the RLWC2021 website.
/ 14 hours ago
The man who attacked former Leeds Rhinos academy talent Matthew Syron has been jailed...
/ 16 hours ago
After the game between St Helens and Leigh Leopards, there was an alleged incident...
/ 16 hours ago
Super League Round Three was the weekend of players gesturing to rival fans it...
/ 17 hours ago
After defeat against Hull KR, Leeds Rhinos got back on track against Catalans Dragons...
/ 18 hours ago
Hull FC picked up their first win of the season against the London Broncos...