Australia star appealing ban for forearm hit which KO’d Samoa playmaker but there’s a complication

After the Rugby League World Cup Final, it was only Angus Crichton who received a ban.

The Australia backrower was sin binned for hitting Chanel Harris-Tavita in the head during the second half.

Many felt he should have been red carded for the incident but in the end he only received a yellow.

Samoa boss Matt Parish was not happy with the decision to only show him a yellow. He said: “Our hooker gets elbowed in the head and carted off and the referee makes a weak decision and puts him in the bin.

“Elbow to the head and he gets taken off the field, what do you think?”

When Australia boss Meninga was informed of these comments about the incident, he said: “Seriously? My view was that he should have stayed on the field. We handled it really well. It was our best 10 minutes of the game, our defence, we just kept turning up for each other.”

He ultimately received a two-match suspension which was set to eat into his time with Sydney Roosters.

However, he is now appealing the decision but the appeal itself is set to be delayed due to travel arrangements.

In a statement from the World Cup, this was confirmed:

Angus Crichton (Australia) is challenging the two match penalty notice which he was issued for a Grade B Reckless Strike during Saturday’s RLWC2021 final.

Due to travel arrangements, the challenge will be heard later this week and the outcome will be published on the RLWC2021 website.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments