2022 Super League Dream Team confirmed dominated by Wigan Warriors and St Helen’s with surprise picks and one Leeds Rhinos star

The 2022 Super League Dream Team has been confirmed this morning with six different teams represented.

Five of the teams are play-off bound with Wigan, St Helens and Salford dominating the team whilst Leeds and Huddersfield have one representative each in the side.

Catalans are the only play-off side with no players in the side after dominating last year’s edition.

Hull KR’s Shaun Kenny-Dowall is the surprise pick ahead of Huddersfield’s Ricky Leutele at centre. It’s a deserved reward for the injured Robins captain who has continually led his team masterfully over the last few years.

This year’s line-up includes six debutants as well as five players who have retained their place from 2021’s Dream Team.

Super League’s top try scorer in 2022 Bevan French joins teammates Liam Farrell and the ever-exciting Jai Field, who takes the Full Back position with his debut appearance.

Amongst the other debutants are Salford Red Devils duo, Brodie Croft and Tim Lafai whose talents have helped Salford reach the Play-Offs and give them another tilt at reaching the Grand Final at Old Trafford.

James Roby, who recently announced he would play on in 2023, returns to Hooker for the first time since 2018. This marks Roby’s seventh appearance in the Dream Team and puts him joint second on the all-time Dream Team appearance list, with Andy Farrell, Keiron Cunningham and Sean O’Loughlin. 

Roby is joined in the team by three of his League Leaders’ Shield winning St Helens side including Morgan Knowles at Loose Forward position for an impressive fourth consecutive year.

Man of Steel Panellist, and member of the 1999 Dream Team, Barrie McDermott said: “Being on the Man of Steel panel and working for Sky Sports means I’ve had the opportunity to watch these fantastic athletes showing some amazing skills week-in-week-out throughout the season.

“Seeing five players retain their place in the team from 2021 shows the talent and consistency on display in Super League. A special mention must go to Morgan Knowles who is quickly making the loose forward position after a fourth straight pick in the team.

“It’s fantastic to see that Mikolaj Oledzki is developing into a first class forward and challenges his peers every week. He has been an imposing presence for his club all year and a debut appearance is very deserved.

“Alongside the familiar faces it is great to see new talent rewarded with a place in the team and all six debutants this season should all be very proud to join the Dream Team list.”

Betfred Super League Dream Team 2022

1. Jai Field, Wigan Warriors
2. Bevan French, Wigan Warriors
3. Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Hull KR
4. Tim Lafai, Salford Red Devils
5. Ken Sio, Salford Red Devils
6. Jack Welsby, St Helens
7. Brodie Croft, Salford Red Devils
8. Alex Walmsley, St Helens
9. James Roby, St Helens
10. Mikolaj Oledzki, Leeds Rhinos
11. Chris McQueen, Huddersfield Giants
12. Liam Farrell, Wigan Warriors
13. Morgan Knowles, St Helens