Swinton v Warrington: predicted line-ups and late injury news

Both these sides have had a mixed starts to the season. Swinton’s loss to Oldham last week will no doubt mean they have a point to prove and after a shaky start for the Wolves and the unstable atmosphere with Steve Price and the Board of Directors, the men from Warrington will approach this game as a way of calming the waters.

Of course, Warrington have done very well in the Challenge Cup over the last twelve years. In 2009 they made their first Challenge Cup Final appearance in almost twenty years and would go on to win, backing that up the following year. Winners again in 2012 and appearing in two more finals since, their last victory came in 2019.

Swinton have Challenge Cup pedigree too, although you would have to go a long way back to find it. They have been in a total of five finals and have three titles to their name. However, their last win was in 1928 and their last final appearance was in 1932. So not the best relationship with the competition in recent times, but the history is there nonetheless.

Injury updates from the Wolves camp say that both Matt Davies and Sitaleki Akauola are fit to play meaning that two players will need to be axed from last week in order to make room. Those honours go to Gareth Widdop and Mike Cooper who have been rested for this match. Once again, Greg Inglis is not fit for selection.

Swinton are capable of giving Warrington something to chew on this afternoon. Usually the Super League talent that plays in the Championship are not young whipper-snappers, but Swinton buck the trend where this is concerned. Former young talents from Wigan and Salford in the shapes of Nick Gregson, Luke Waterworth, and Luis Roberts bolster the side.


17. Matty Ashton

2. Tim Lineham

4. Toby King

18. Jake Mamo

5. Josh Charnley

6. Blake Austin

1. Stefan Ratchford

8. Chris Hill

9. Daryl Clark

19. Rob Mulhern

11. Ben Currie

12. Jack Hughes

14. Jason Clark


13. Joe Philbin

15. Matt Davis

16. Danny Walker

20. Sitaleki Akauola


1. Mike Butt

2. Richard Lepori

3. Mitch Cox

22. Geronimo Doyle

25. Luis Roberts.

6. Martyn Ridyard

7. Jack Hansen

8. Sam Brooks

9. Luke Waterworth

15. Louis Brogan

19. Dean Meadows

12. Nick Gregson

13. Will Hope


11. Rhodri Lloyd

16. Paddy Jones

18. Cobi Green

20. Tayler Brown

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments