Connect with us

Super League

Sam Tomkins says this Wigan Warriors try was the best of 2022

With the season well in the rear view mirror and fans starting to look forward to the pre-season friendlies and then 2023 season start it’s easy to forget some of the brilliant rugby from the past season.

The official Betfred Super League Titter account have been asking fans to vote on their try of the season and we finally have a winner.

Castleford Tigers’ Jason Qareqare has won it for his insane 80-metre try in which he beat two or three men to burst free and tiptoe down the touchline to score beating out nine other brilliant tries.

Qareqare is only 18 but has got one hell of a future in the game having scored another great try on his debut as well, but this one was simply spectacular.

What makes the try even more special was that it came against St Helens who boasted the best defence throughout last season and eventually won the Grand Final but the fan voted element is what pleased Qareqare most.

“Wow. First, I want to thank the fans for voting for me. I’m humbled about this and so grateful for everyone that voted for me, my family and my friends for supporting me as well.”

Speaking in the video posted to Twitter by the Super League, Qareqare explained that Tigers had targeted the wide areas and it’s something he exposed brilliantly.

“We looked to shift to the edges, that’s where we knew was a soft spot for St Helens. I was looking to cut back in but Mahe (Fonua) just showed me the hand to go.

“The celebration after as well, I remember watching it back and my mouth just went super wide smiling with pure adrenaline and joy.”

However, despite this, it was not England skipper and two-time Man of Steel winner Sam Tomkins’ try of the season.

To the Catalans Dragons star, it was a try from his former club which was the best of the year.

His pick came from star man Jai Field against Salford Red Devils as Wigan Warriors claimed a dramatic late win against them as he returned a kick and showed great pace to exploit the space and run the length to win the game.

In 2023, he will take on the number one shirt previously held by Tomkins.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League