Connect with us

Rugby League World Cup

Hull KR man starts for Scotland as one of World’s finest makes Australia debut

Mal Meninga has made seven changes to the Kangaroos side which beat Fiji in the opening round of the tournament.

Nathan Cleary is named for what will be his Kangaroos debut. The young half back has already dominated the NRL and State of Origin and now has the chance to shine on the international.

Liam Martin and Isaah Yeo are also making their debut for the Kangaroos with the Penrith trio missing out on the opening fixture.

Lindsay Collins, Matt Burton and Campbell Graham are the other players set to debut in the green and gold as Mal Meninga tries to find his best team as the tournament progresses.

As for Scotland, Head Coach Nathan Graham has made three changes to his side after their shock defeat to Italy.

There is no Ryan Brierley for the Bravehearts who are in for a tough night against the reigning champions and will be doing it tough without the Salford star.

They are also missing prop Sam Luckley who misses out with Alex Walker and Jack Teanby replacing them.

Euan Aitken will know all about the talent which this Australian team possess from playing in the NRL and he forms a solid backline for Scotland with Hull KR’s Kane Linnett and St Helens James Bell.

Scotland realiastically need a win to keep their hopes of staying in the World Cup alive, whilst a win for the Kangaroos will all but secure their place in the knockout stages.

Here are the teams in full:


Tedesco; Addo-Carr, Burton, Wighton, Graham; Munster, Cleary; Campbell-Gillard, Grant, Carrigan, Crichton, Martin, Yeo.

Interchanges: Hunt, Collins, Holmes, Trbojevic


Walker; Walmsley, Hellewell, Buchanan, Russell, Gahan, Hayward, Bayliss-Brow, Hood, Teanby, Aitken, Linnett, Bell

Interchanges: Schneider, Bain, Graham, Ferguson

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League World Cup