Five potential hosts for 2025 World Cup revealed by Sky Sports including two surprise options

The next Rugby League World Cup was plunged into huge jeopardy this week.

This is because it was announced on Monday that France could no longer host the tournament meaning there is a huge question mark over where and when it will be held.

Today was there a huge day in answering that question.

This is because the Board of International Rugby League, with representatives from the RFL appearing, is set to discuss next steps today.

IRL chair Troy Grant said: “The board meets face to face in July and we will then be able to determine together our next steps forward and consider the other bids we have received for not only 2025, but 2029, 2033 and World Cup 9s events in the future.

“Exciting international content for 2023 and 2024, in addition to the recent historic Tongan tour to England, will be announced publicly shortly, which will be the front end of our much needed and highly anticipated calendar.”

Now Jenna Brooks has revealed five countries interested in the tournament.

Some names are to be expected at present.

New Zealand, Australia and Fiji have been mentioned as expected but so have South Africa and Qatar as per Jenna Brooks on Sky Sports who said:

“New Zealand have put their names forward alongside Australia, South Africa, Fiji and Qatar.”

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments