Wigan Warriors face nervous waiting game on Liam Farrell

Matt Peet has named his 21-player Wigan Warriors squad for Friday’s final regular Betfred Super League game against Catalans Dragons.

The Cherry and Whites host the French side in Round 27 – looking to remain unbeaten at home throughout the 2022 regular season and build momentum ahead of the Play-Off Semi Final in two weeks’ time.

There are 12 changes from Monday’s youthful squad that put in a valiant effort at Hull KR in Round 26.

Club Captain Thomas Leuluai returns to the squad after a long spell out with a calf injury. The 37-year-old suffered the injury during training and has not featured for the Warriors since Round 15 in the win against Salford Red Devils in June.

Bevan French, Liam Marshall, Cade Cust, Brad Singleton, John Bateman, Morgan Smithies, Harry Smith, Liam Byrne, Kai Pearce-Paul, Jai Field and Mike Cooper also come back into the squad.

Jake Bibby, Patrick Mago, Willie Isa, Kaide Ellis, Oliver Partington, Ethan Havard, Joe Shorrocks, Abbas Miski and Brad O’Neill all keep their places in the squad.

Sam Halsall, James McDonnell, Umyla Hanley, Alex Sutton, Ramon Silva, Junior Nsemba, Zach Eckersley, Logan Astley, Jack Bibby, Harvie Hill, Ben O’Keefe and Tom Forber all drop out.

However, there is still no place for Liam Farrell who has failed to recover from the injury that forced him off during Wigan’s brilliant win over St Helens.

The 21-man squad is as followed:

1 Bevan French
2 Jake Bibby
5 Liam Marshall
6 Cade Cust
7 Tommy Leuluai
8 Brad Singleton
10 Patrick Mago
11 Willie Isa
13 John Bateman
14 Morgan Smithies
15 Kaide Ellis
16 Harry Smith
17 Oliver Partington
19 Ethan Havard
20 Liam Byrne
21 Kai Pearce-Paul
22 Joe Shorrocks
23 Jai Field
24 Abbas Miski
28 Brad O’Neill
36 Mike Cooper