Connect with us

Super League

Wigan v Huddersfield: 21-man squads, injury update and TV details

Wigan and Huddersfield have both announced their 21-man squads for Sunday afternoon’s round 12 clash at the DW Stadium (KO 3:00pm).

The Warriors’ poor run of form continued last week as they went down 24-6 to local rivals St Helens.

It’s the first time the club have lost five league games in a row since the infamous 2006 season.

The Giants have also had a tough few weeks and are without a win since mid-May, with losses to Wakefield, Salford, Hull FC and Catalans, plus a 24-0 forfeit against Castleford.

The game will be available to watch live on Sky Sports Arena, with coverage starting from 2:30pm.

Wigan Warriors

The Warriors are dealt a triple blow, with Willie Isa and Ethan Havard suspended, and Ollie Partington ruled out with a head injury meaning Adrian Lam can only name an 18-man squad. Tony Clubb does return from an eight-game suspension, however there’s still no John Bateman (ankle), Dom Manfredi (knee), Bevan French (hamstring), Zak Hardaker (neck), Jai Field (hamstring) or Morgan Smithies (ankle).

18-man squad: 4 Oliver Gildart, 5 Liam Marshall, 7 Thomas Leuluai, 8 Brad Singleton, 9 Sam Powell, 10 Joe Bullock, 12 Liam Farrell, 17 Tony Clubb, 19 Liam Byrne, 20 Harry Smith, 22 Jake Bibby, 23 Mitch Clark, 25 Joe Shorrocks, 27 Kai Pearce-Paul, 29 James McDonnell, 30 Umyla Hanley, 31 Jackson Hastings, 34 Brad O’Neill.

Huddersfield Giants

The Giants named only 16 players initially, with further made following RFL clearance. Lee Gaskell drops out injured, while Kenny Edwards is suspended. Oliver Wilson and Owen Trout are also omitted, as is Jack Ashworth who has joined Leigh on loan. Nathaniel Peteru and Nathan Peats have come the other way and are drafted straight in, with young forward Robson Stevens also called up. There’s still no Darnell McIntosh (achilles), Aidan Sezer (ankle), Adam O’Brien (shoulder), Joe Wardle (ankle), Jack Cogger (foot), Michael Lawrence, James Cunningham or Matty English.

19-man squad: 1 Ashton Golding, 2 Jermaine McGillvary, 3 Jake Wardle, 4 Ricky Leutele, 8 Luke Yates, 13 Josh Jones, 15 Joe Greenwood, 17 Chris McQueen, 21 Leroy Cudjoe, 22 James Gavet, 23 Oliver Russell, 24 Louis Senior, 26 Sam Hewitt, 27 Sam Wood, 31 Olly Ashall-Bott, 32 Will Pryce, 33 Robson Stevens, 34 Nathaniel Peteru, 35 Nathan Peats.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League