Connect with us

Super League

Why St Helens star has been sent to tribunal

One Super League star has been sent to tribunal after Round 12 of the Super League season.

It comes after a fiery affair between St Helens and Salford Red Devils which was one of a number of games that featured heavily in the disciplinary.

A huge 16 players charged by the disciplinary panel.

These include Leeds Rhinos star Zane Tetevano who is unsurprisingly hit with a ban.

He has picked up a two match ban for his late hit on Harry Smith of Wigan Warriors which saw him sent off for contact with the head.

The likes of Curtis Sironen of St Helens, Liam Watts and Bureta Faraimo of Castleford Tigers, Jesse Sue of Hull KR, Nathan Peats of Huddersfield Giants, Kelepi Tanginoa of Wakefield Trinity and Scott Taylor of Hull FC have all been banned.

There have been seven players charged who have avoided a ban. Four of them have been fined whilst three of them have avoided any punishment.

Meanwhile, St Helens star Matty Lees of the Saints has been sent to tribunal for striking.

According to the Match Review Panel minutes the incident was for a strike with an elbow or forearm off the ball which has been branded as reckless.

The tribunal will be heard tomorrow.

“Strikes – Strikes with elbow/forearm – off ball – reckless.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League