Warrington Wolves release 2023 squad numbers with hint of major signing and position change for Stefan Ratchford

It’s that time of the year where clubs start to tease their fans with what’s to come for 2023. Kits are starting to be released and squad numbers always spark debate on social media.

Today, it is Warrington Wolves’ turn to reveal who is wearing which number on their back next season, ahead of their kit launch this evening.

The biggest change is mid-season signing, Matt Dufty, who has taken the number one jersey, replacing Stefan Ratchford who has donned the shirt since 2017.

Utility back Rachford has switched to number four. He is a capable centre, playing there over 40 times for both Salford and Warrington, but a permanent switch to that position in 2023 now looks a strong possibility.

Meanwhile, youngster Josh Thewlis has deservedly been given the number two jersey, after deputising well for Josh Charnley. The 20-year-old scored nine tries is 19 appearances last term.

Another big mystery is the number seven, or more specifically a lack of a number seven. The shirt has been left vacant after Gareth Widdop’s departure to Castleford so it seems Wire are waiting for a signing to take the spot, with strong reports it will be former Catalans halfback Josh Drinkwater.

New signings Paul Vaughan, Josh Maguire, Sam Kasiano and Gil Dudson have taken the number 10, 13, 14 and 17 spots respectively, with last year’s mid-season signing Tom Mikaele taking 18.

Numbers 22-33 are all taken by homegrown, academy products that include the likes of Riley Dean, Luke Thomas and Leon Hayes who all featured in Super League last year.

Warrington Wolves 2023 squad numbers:
1. Matt Dufty
2. Josh Thewlis
3. Peter Mata’utia
4. Stefan Ratchford
5. Matty Ashton
6. George Williams
7. Vacant
8. James Harrison
9. Daryl Clark
10. Paul Vaughan
11. Ben Currie
12. Matty Nicholson
13. Josh Maguire
14. Sam Kasiano
15. Joe Philbin
16. Danny Walker
17. Gil Dudson
18. Tom Mikaele
19. Joe Bullock
20. Connor Wrench
21. Greg Minikin
22. Riley Dean
23. Tom Whitehead
24. Luke Thomas
25. Leon Hayes
26. Adam Holroyd
27. Aiden Doolan
28. Jack Darbyshire
29. Josh Lynchnch
30. Jake Thewlis
31. Jamie Reddecliff
32. Bobby Shingler
33. Ellis Longstaff

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments