Connect with us


Toronto snubbed as Betfred Championship Awards Nominations announced

Despite winning the Betfred Championship by 8 points and only losing 2 games all season the Toronto Wolfpack have been overlooked as the shortlists are announced for the Championship awards .

Halifax head coach Richard Marshall, who won the award in 2015 is shortlisted alongside London Broncos’ Danny Ward in his first year as head coach of the club and Sylvain Houles of Toulouse Olympique XIII. All three coaches successfully led their sides in to the Super 8s The Qualifiers.

The four-man shortlist for this year’s Player of the Year award features two Toulouse Olympique XIII players – full-back Mark Kheirallah and half-back Johnathon Ford, who previously won the League 1 Player of the Year in 2016 – alongside Halifax Captain Scott Murrell and Luke Briscoe of Featherstone Rovers.

Brandon Moore of Halifax is nominated for the Young Player of the Year Award for the second consecutive year. Sheffield Eagles’ Matt Costello and Harry Newman of Featherstone Rovers are also named in the three-man shortlist.
In Betfred League 1, Leon Pryce of Workington Town is shortlisted in his first year as head coach of the club, alongside Bradford Bulls’ John Kear and James Ford of York City Knights, who was also shortlisted in 2017.

York City Knights’ Ben Cockayne and Connor Robinson are included in the four-man shortlist for League 1 Player of the Year, alongside Sean Penkywicz of Workington Town and Bradford Bulls’ Dane Chisholm.
The League 1 Young Player of the Year shortlist features two players from Bradford Bulls. Winger Ethan Ryan and stand-off Brandon Pickersgill are nominated alongside York City Knights’ winger Judah Mazive.

Championship Player of the Year: Luke Briscoe (Featherstone Rovers), Scott Murrell (Halifax RLFC), Mark Kheirallah (Toulouse Olympique XIII), Johnathon Ford (Toulouse Olympique XIII)

Championship Coach of the Year: Danny Ward (London Broncos), Richard Marshall (Halifax RLFC), Sylvain Houles (Toulouse Olympique XIII)

Championship Young Player of the Year: Harry Newman (Featherstone Rovers), Brandon Moore (Halifax RLFC), Matt Costello (Sheffield Eagles)

League 1 Player of the Year: Ben Cockayne (York City Knights), Connor Robinson (York City Knights), Dane Chisholm (Bradford Bulls) and Sean Penkywicz (Workington Town).

League 1 Coach of the Year: James Ford (York City Knights), John Kear (Bradford Bulls), Leon Pryce (Workington Town)

League 1 Young Player of the Year: Brandon Pickersgill (Bradford Bulls), Ethan Ryan (Bradford Bulls) and Judah Mazive (York City Knights)

The winners will be announced at the 2018 Betfred Championship and League 1 annual dinner in Manchester on Tuesday, September 25.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Championship