Connect with us

Super League

St Helens vs Wigan Warriors Team News: Makinson and Field decisions made

Wigan Warriors head coach Matt Peet and St Helens head coach Paul Wellens in front of Super League hoarding

The head coaches of St Helens and Wigan Warriors have named their 21-man squads for their Good Friday derby clash in Super League’s Rivals Round.

St Helens head coach Paul Wellens has made two changes to the side that beat Leeds Rhinos in the Challenge Cup last week.

Tommy Makinson, in a huge boost for Saints, returns to the side, after being sidelined from the Leeds games due to injury.

Mark Percival also returns after his two-match suspension, which he got for contact to the head – an offence he was sent off for in Saints’ loss to Salford Red Devils.

They replace Tee Ritson and James Bell, who is serving a one-match suspension, which was appealed unsuccessfully, after a Grade B Dangerous Contact charge.

Lewis Dodd, despite not being named in the 18 for the Cup game, remains in the 21-man squad.

Matt Peet has made just one change to the Wigan side that survived a scare against Sheffield Eagles last Friday.

Jai Field, as expected, returns to the side, with Tom Forber dropping out after it was confirmed he had made the loan switch to Championship side Barrow Raiders.

Wigan have, of course, gone for a strong side, with their big names all expected to feature.

Kruise Leeming keeps his place after returning from injury last week.

Below are the full 21-man squads.

St Helens 21-man squad

St Helens' Tommy Makinson, Lewis Dodd and Matt Whitley celebrate after the game at Huddersfield

Credit: Ed Sykes/

1. Jack Welsby

2. Tommy Makinson

3. Waqa Blake

4. Mark Percival

5. Jon Bennsion

9. Daryl Clark

10. Matty Lees

11. Sione Mata’utia

12. Joe Batchelor

13. Morgan Knowles

14. Moses Mbye

16. Curtis Sironen

18. Jake Wingfield

19. Matt Whitley

20. George Delaney

21. Ben Davies

22. Sam Royle

23. Konrad Hurrell.

Wigan Warriors 21-man squad

Wigan Warriors' Jai Field and Bevan French celebrate

Credit: Imago Images

1. Jai Field

2. Abbas Miski

3. Adam Keighran

4. Jake Wardle

5. Liam Marshall

6. Bevan French

7. Harry Smith

9. Brad O’Neill

10. Liam Byrne

11. Willie Isa

12. Liam Farrell

13. Kaide Ellis

15. Patrick Mago

16. Luke Thompson

17. Kruise Leeming

19. Tyler Dupree

20. Harvie Hill

21. Junior Nsemba

23. Ryan Hampshire

24. Tiaki Chan

26. Zach Eckersley

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League