Connect with us


Sam Burgess given impressive accolade

Sam Burgess has been hailed as one of two props in the Fox Sports’ Team of the Decade (2012-2021).

At the heights of his career, Burgess carved out a reputation for himself as one of the toughest forwards in the game, scoring 41 tries in 156 games for South Sydney from 2012 to his retirement in 2019, after coming through the ranks with the Bradford Bulls in Super League.

Burgess was named the Dally M lock of the year in 2014, RLIF prop of the year (2013), RLIF player of the year (2014), as well as winning the Clive Churchill Medal when Souths won the premiership in 2014 – with a broken cheekbone for almost 80 minutes.

Since retiring, Burgess has gone on to try his hand in coaching, taking up a role with local Sydney side the Orara Valley Axemen with murmurings that he could soon be returning to the NRL with the Rabbitohs in a coaching capacity.

Here is the Team of the Decade (2012-2021) in full:

1. Billy Slater
2. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
3. Greg Inglis
4. Latrell Mitchell
5. Brett Morris
6. Johnathan Thurston
7. Cooper Cronk
8. Sam Burgess
9. Cameron Smith
10. Matt Scott
11. Paul Gallen
12. Boyd Cordner
13. Jason Taumalolo
14. James Tedesco
15. Jesse Bromwich
16. Luke Lewis
17. Tom Trbojevic

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in NRL