England name World Cup Nines squad

Four uncapped players have been named in England’s squad for the World Cup 9s.

Leeds winger Ash Handley, Canberra prop Ryan Sutton and Castleford duo Jake Trueman and Liam Watts have all been included by Wayne Bennett.

James Graham will captain the squad, which includes five other players from NRL clubs – Tom Burgess (Souty Sydney), Ryan Hall (Sydney), Ryan Sutton, Elliot Whitehead (both Canberra) and Gareth Widdop (St George).

It has also been confirmed that 11 of the 16 named will be part of the Great Britain squad to tour New Zealand and Papua New Guinea afterwards.

Castleford halfback Jake Trueman is one of four uncapped players included in the squad.

Only Ryan Sutton, Sam Tomkins, Reece Lyne, Ash Handley and Liam Watts have missed out on Lions selection, however the latter four will all be on standby should they be needed.

The competition takes place over two days on October 18 and 19, with England coming up against Wales, Lebanon and France in Pool B.

England World Cup 9s squad: James Graham (St George Illawarra Dragons, captain), Tom Burgess (South Sydney), Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves), Jake Connor (Hull FC), Ryan Hall (Sydney Roosters), Ash Handley (Leeds Rhinos), Jack Hughes (Warrington Wolves), Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity), Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants), Ryan Sutton (Canberra Raiders), Sam Tomkins (Catalans Dragons), Jake Trueman (Castleford Tigers), Liam Watts (Castleford Tigers), Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders), Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons), George Williams (Wigan Warriors).

Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments