Super League Young Player of the Year nominees revealed

The nominees for two Betfred Super League awards have been announced today ? and League Leaders Shield winners Wigan Warriors have a contender in each category.

Matt Peet is one of four in the running for the Betfred Super League Coach of the Year award, which is determined by a poll of the competition’s 12 head coaches.

Meanwhile Brad O’Neill, the 21-year-old hooker who has been a key figure in the Warriors pack throughout 2023, is one of three nominees for the Young Player of the Year award.

O’Neill is joined by two players from Warrington Wolves second-row Matty Nicholson, and outside back Josh Thewlis.

Nicholson, who was born in Halifax and has previously played for Wigan and Newcastle Thunder, is the youngest of the three, having turned 20 in July.

Thewlis, who joined the Wolves from the renowned Oldham community club Waterhead, was 21 in April, meeting the eligibility criteria for the award of having been under 21 at the start of the 2023 Betfred Super League season in February.

The nominees for the Betfred Super League Coach of the Year award include the last three winners with Peet aiming to win it for the second consecutive season.

Adrian Lam, who won the award in 2020 when he steered Wigan Warriors to the Grand Final, is in contention again after plotting an outstanding return to the game?s elite for Leigh Leopards ? in which they have won the Betfred Challenge Cup at Wembley, in addition to securing a Play-Off place.

Steve McNamara is in contention to be named Coach of the Year for the second time in three seasons, with Catalans Dragons 80 minutes away from a repeat of their debut Grand Final appearance in 2021 having secured a top two finish and a home Semi Final.

Paul Rowley is the only one of the four nominees not to have won the award previously, although he was also nominated last year for steering Salford Red Devils to the Play-Offs and has again been recognised by his fellow coaches for the consistency, competitiveness and enterprise of his team.

The Betfred Super League Coach of the Year and Young Player of the Year will be crowned at the sport’s biggest and most inclusive Awards Night at Emirates Old Trafford on Tuesday October 10.

The three nominees for the Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel will be announced next Wednesday (October 4).