Super League club forced to draft in Championship player effective immediately

Huddersfield Giants’ battle with Leeds Rhinos, Warrington Wolves, Hull FC, Hull KR and Salford Red Devils is over after their defeat to Leigh Leopards in the strangest of circumstances as they started the game on Friday and it concluded on Sunday.

As they look to finish the season strongly, they have surprisingly recalled Adam O’Brien from his loan move to Halifax Panthers which was widely believed to be the end of his Huddersfield Giants career.

He now has another chance for a big finish coming in with injury doubts looming over Olly Russell, Theo Fages and Ash Golding leaving the Giants a little short in the spine.

O’Brien could feature against Hull KR this week.

Rovers have won their last two against tough opposition in Leigh Leopards and Catalans Dragons and it’s inspired hope into a season that was looking like another one of wasted potential.

Those two wins have lifted them into sixth, two points clear of rivals Salford whom they play next week, and six points clear of Friday night rivals Huddersfield who can still mathematically make the top six given how the fixtures line up.

The Robins will be without star loose forward Elliot Minchella who failed a HIA last week in victory over Catalans and he’ll be a massive miss for Willie Peters side.

It’s also a key position that Rovers don’t have lots of back up at, Dean Hadley could move into the role, but with talk that Jordan Abdull could be fit for a return there’s bene the suggestion that he could be squeezed into the side via the number thirteen shirt.

Rovers have now named their squad and Abdull has been named.

Elliot Minchella drops out after failing his HIA last week, while James Batchelor also misses out this week to due a minor elbow injury that requires surgery but is expected to return in the coming weeks.

Jordan Abdull returns to the squad after almost 3 months out due to a quad injury. Luis Johnson also makes the 21-man squad.

Hull KR won 28-0 the last time the two sides met this season at Sewell Group Craven Park!

Full 21-man Squad:

2. Ethan Ryan

3. Tom Opacic

4. Shaun Kenny-Dowall

5. Ryan Hall

7. Jordan Abdull

9. Matt Parcell

10. George King

12. Kane Linnett

14. Jez Litten

15. Rhys Kennedy

17. Matty Storton

18. Jimmy Keinhorst

20. Mikey Lewis

21. Rowan Milnes

22. Dean Hadley

23. Louis Senior

25. Luis Johnson

26. Sam Luckley

27. Yusuf Aydin

34. Jack Walker

37. Brad Schneider