Shock club makes move for Luke Thompson

Leeds Rhinos, Wigan Warriors, Warrington Wolves and St Helens have all been linked with big moves for Luke Thompson since 2020.

After the retirement of Jamie Peacock in 2015 and the neck injury of Alex Walmsley, Thompson cemented himself as the best prop in Super League at the end of the 2010s and in fact there was an argument to be made that he was the best forward period at the end of the decade.

Taking that further, you could even argue that he was the best player in the league which is why he won the Harry Sunderland Award in the 2019 Grand Final win over Salford Red Devils.

However, after that win Thompson left the Saints for Canterbury Bulldogs midway through 2020.

He has been brilliant when fit in the NRL but he has suffered with injuries sparking talk of a return to Super League.

However, it is another NRL club who are interested in the prop according to reports down under.

Fox League have reported that Wests Tigers have made a shock move for the prop. If he moved to the Tigers he would be rejoining England teammate John Bateman who joined the club ahead of this season.

This year Thompson has been linked with Wigan but in an interesting twist St George Illawarra Dragons have now entered the race to sign the prop according to Sydney Morning Herald.

They claim Shane Flanagan has identified him as a major target and that they have even held a meeting and initial talks.

Now the Daily Telegraph has now reported that Flanagan is keen on completing the move for Thompson after these talks.

It was believed he would miss the entire 2023 season but in a surprise twist Thompson has been named by the Bulldogs in their 17 for this weekend’s game against England teammate Dom Young and Newcastle Knights.

Knights team: 1. Kalyn Ponga 2. Dominic Young 3. Dane Gagai 4. Enari Tuala 5. Greg Marzhew 6. Tyson Gamble 7. Jackson Hastings 8. Jacob Saifiti 9. Phoenix Crossland 10. Leo Thompson 11. Tyson Frizell 12. Lachlan Fitzgibbon 13. Adam Elliott 14. Kurt Mann 15. Brodie Jones 16. Jack Hetherington 17. Mathew Croker 18. Dylan Lucas 19. Hymel Hunt 20. Simi Sasagi 21. Jack Johns 22. Daniel Saifiti