Hull KR fans furious at Willie Peters Coach of the Year omission

Today it was confirmed that Wigan Warriors boss Matt Peet, Leigh Leopards coach Adrian Lam, Salford Red Devils coach Paul Rowley and Catalans Dragons boss Steve McNamara have all be nominated for the Coach of the Year award in Super League.

However, there has been a shock omission in the shape of of Willie Peters.

The Hull KR boss had led the Robins to their joint best finish in Super League history equalling their position in 2009.

He also led them to the Challenge Cup Final this year but has been left out and the unhappiness of Hull KR fans can be underpinned by the fact Willie Peters was trending on X shortly after underlining the number of complains from KR fans at his omission.

This is not to take away from those who were named.

In light of Paul Rowley’s nomination The Red Devils said: “We are delighted to announce that Paul Rowley has been nominated for Betfred Super League Coach of the Year.

“After another season of progression, our Head Coach has been recognised alongside fellow competitors, Matt Peet, Steve McNamara and Adrian Lam.

“With one of the smallest squads across Super League, the former England international mounted yet another playoff charge in 2023.

“Competition for a playoff spot was possibly at its highest ever level across 2023; and the fact Rowley’s side achieved one more Super League victory than 2022, but narrowly missed out on the six, is the perfect indicator of just that.

“Some standout performances include a memorable opening day victory versus Leigh Leopards, a rare win at Headingley and the golden point thriller against Warrington Wolves.

“A mountain of injury trouble continued to hamper his squad, but to keep hopes of a top six finish alive, right until the final day, deserves a huge amount of praise.”

Upon receiving his nomination, Rowley has said: “I am really honoured to be nominated for the award. It has been a challenging season and our group continues to do us proud.

“I am privileged to work with these players and grateful for the friendship, loyalty and brilliance of Kurt and Kris.”

The Super League Coach of the Year will be crowned at the sport’s biggest and most inclusive Awards Night at Emirates Old Trafford on Tuesday, October 10th.

This night will also see the Steve Prescott Man of Steel crowned and the Young Player of the Year.