Huddersfield v Warrington: 21-man squads and injury update

Both Huddersfield and Warrington have endured contrasting seasons. Whilst Warrington have in general avoided long-term injuries to key players whilst pushing for Super League success, the Giants haven’t lived up to the hype owing in part to their injury crisis.

The Wolves however will have to come up with a strong showing to down the resurgent Giants. Having had last week off due to Covid problems in the Catalans squad, the Wire should be especially fresh and up for it especially as they look to re-write the wrongs of their last trip to West Yorkshire when they lost to Wakefield.

Meanwhile, Huddersfield came up short on Thursday at Headingley. Nonetheless, they showed some real guts to stay in touch with the Rhinos and a similar showing could test Warrington this week.

The game kick-offs on Thursday night at 19:45.

Huddersfield Giants

The Giants welcome back two of their most important players. Chris McQueen is back in the 21 having missed last week’s defeat whilst Giants legend Jermaine McGillvary is back in the fold. Meanwhile, Lee Gaskell, after being named in the squad last week, has been dropped once again perhaps because of his impending move to Wakefield.

21-man squad: 1 Ashton Goulding, 2 Jermaine McGillvary, 3 Jake Wardle, 4 Ricky Leutele, 8 Luke Yates, 13 Josh Jones, 14 Matty English, 15 Joe Greenwood, 16 Jack Cogger, 17 Chris McQueen, 20 Oliver Wilson, 21 Leroy Cudjoe, 23 Oliver Russell, 24 Louis Senior, 25 Owen Trout, 27 Sam Wood, 28 Sam Hewitt, 31 Olly Ashall-Bott, 32 Will Pryce, 34 Nathaniel Peteru, 35 Nathan Peats.

Warrington Wolves

The Wolves meanwhile welcome back Jason Clark to their squad. The Australian enforcer has been a big miss in recent weeks and months and he’ll be a welcome addition to the Warrington side this week. Meanwhile, the Wire will have to do without Josh Charnley on the wing meaning the likes of Matty Ashton could replace him in the 17.

21-man squad: 1 Stefan Ratchford, 2 Tom Lineham, 4 Toby King, 6 Blake Austin, 7 Gareth Widdop, 8 Chriss Hill, 9 Daryl Clark, 10 Mike Cooper, 11 Ben Currie, 12 Jack Hughes, 13 Joe Philbin, 14 Jason Clark, 15 Matt Davis, 16 Danny Walker, 17 Matty Ashton, 18 Jake Mamo, 19 Rob Mulhern, 20 Sitaleki Akauola, 23 Josh Thewlis, 26 Ellis Longstaff, 31 George Williams.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments