England Women name 39-strong Performance Squad

New England Rugby League logo

Leeds Rhinos, Castleford Tigers and St Helens have a combined total of 29 players included in the England Women’s National Performance Squad for 2020.

Head coach Craig Richards has named a 39-strong squad, which will form the teams for the 2020 Women’s Origin Series, before Performance Squads for the England Women and a new Knights team are selected in preparation for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup.

Richards will continue to be assisted by Leeds Rhinos forward Adam Cuthbertson and former England international Shaun Briscoe, both of whom travelled with England Women for their tests with Papua New Guinea last year.

Meanwhile, the first-ever England Women Knights Performance Squad will be coached by Women’s Rugby League legend and Leeds Rhinos Women’s head coach Lois Forsell and two-time Super League Man of Steel Paul Sculthorpe MBE.

Richards said: “I am extremely pleased to be continuing as England Women’s Head Coach with some fantastic backroom staff alongside me.

England Women were one of four nations to compete in last year’s World Cup 9s tournament. Credit: News Images

“It is brilliant that we’ve been able to keep Adam and Shaun ahead of 2020. Shaun has worked with the players for nearly a year now while Adam was a fantastic addition to the coaching staff ahead of last year’s tour of Papua New Guinea.

“The brand-new England Women Knights set-up is a great step forward for the Women’s game and the National Performance Programme. It will help introduce younger Women’s Super League stars to the international set-up and will allow us to work closely with these players at an earlier stage.”

Leeds have the most players included, with 12, while Castleford and St Helens have 10 and seven named respectievly.

There are four representatives from Wigan and two from Warrington, while Huddersfield, Bradford and the British Army have one each.

Charlotte Booth, who recently left British shores to sign for West Brisbane Panthers in Australia, also retains her place.

England Women National Performance Squad: Amy Hardcastle (Bradford Bulls), Carrie Roberts (British Army), Jasmine Cudjoe, Hollie Dodd, Grace Field, Kelsey Gentles, Shona Hoyle, Lacey Owen, Sinead Peach, Tamzin Renouf, Georgia Roche, Tara-Jane Stanley (all Castleford Tigers), Isabel Bibby (Huddersfield Giants), Dannielle Anderson, Caitlin Beevers, Keara Bennett, Hanna Butcher, Abby Eatock, Elle Frain, Tasha Gaines, Francesca Goldthorp, Amy Johnson, Chloe Kerrigan, Shannon Lacey, Ellie Oldroyd (all Leeds Rhinos), Leah Burke, Chantelle Crowl, Jodie Cunningham, Tara Jones, Emily Rudge, Paige Travis, Naomi Williams (all St Helens), Roxy Mura, Rowanne Smalley (both Warrington Wolves), Charlotte Booth (West Brisbane Panthers), Rebecca Greenfield, Vicky Molyneux, Rachel Thompson, Georgia Wilson (all Wigan Warriors).

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments