Connect with us

Rugby League News

Bradford Bulls confirm 2024 squad headlined by impressive half-back pairing

Bradford Bulls are headed into the 2024 campaign as one of the fancied teams in the Championship given their strong finish to 2023, and now they’ve confirmed an impressive squad for the upcoming campaign.

The Bulls placed third in the 2023 season with a late season run of form shooting them up the table and firmly into the play-offs.

From there the Bulls defeated York Knights before falling against Toulouse Olympique down in France, but there’s still huge signs for optimism coming into 2024 with the club under new coaching.

Eamon O’Carroll heads to Odsal, having left his role in Perpignan with Catalans, and the former Wigan Warriors player has assembled an impressive squad.

That squad has now been confirmed with the Bulls taking the day to confirm each player’s squad number for 2024, posting periodically on social media platform X before confirming the full roster.

Among the squad is plenty of talent including some ex-Super League stars, but the team is headlined by the impressive half-back partnership of Lee Gaskell and Jordan Lilley.

Jorge Taufua and Ben Blackmore occupy the starting wing shirts with Tom Holmes in behind at full-back.

The experience of George Flanagan Sr is present at hooker with a pack comprising of rising star Ebon Scurr, Chester Butler and former Huddersfield Giants man Michael Lawrence.

It’s been confirmed that the Bulls will travel to Wakefield Trinity for their first game of the season, opening up the Championship on Friday 15th March in a huge clash against Daryl Powell’s side.

With Trinity as the favourites to win the division it will mark a brilliant test for the new team built by O’Carroll who will be chasing yet another play-off campaign.

As for the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup the Bulls have been grouped alongside Keighley Cougars and Dewsbury Rams, something they confirmed via their club site yesterday.

“The new-look AB Sundecks 1895 Cup has pitted us against Dewsbury Rams and Keighley Cougars in Group 2!

“The newly-devised structure sees seven groups of three do battle, the seven group winners gaining automatic entry into the quarter-finals, where they will be joined by the best performing second-placed team.

“Keighley Cougars and Dewsbury Rams face off at Cougar Park on Sunday 28th January to open proceedings, before Eamon O’Carroll’s side make the short trip to the Flair Stadium to face Dewsbury on Sunday 4th February.

“The Group Stage is rounded off by a trip to Keighley on Sunday 18th February. Kick off times and ticketing details will be available in due course.”

1. Tom Holmes

2. Ben Blackmore

3. Joe Arundel

4. Kieran Gill

5. Jorge Taufua

6. Lee Gaskell

7. Jordan Lilley

8. Jordan Baldwinson

9. George Flanagan Snr

10. Ebon Scurr

11. Brad England

12. Chester Butler

13. Michael Lawrence

14. John Davies

15. Dan Smith

16. Keven Appo

17. Eribe Doro

18. Mitch Souter

19. Sam Hallas

20. Billy Jowitt

21. Jayden Myers

22. Will Oakes

23. Dan Okoro

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News