Big decision made on John Asiata

Leigh Leopards travel to Craven Park to face Hull KR on Friday night for the club’s first ever Super League playoff match but they’ll do so without one of their star players with confirmation that ex Leeds Rhinos and Wigan Warriors star Zak Hardaker is out.

Hardaker was a doubt and Adrian Lam had spoken to Serious About Rugby League confirming that the centre would be undergoing surgery and that his season was done, with this omission now confirming that and leaving the Leopards short in their centres.

That’s because Hardaker’s fellow centre Ricky Leutele is also out for the season meaning that Lam will likely have to look to Ed Chamberlain and future Hull KR player Oliver Gildart.

The other major talking point surrounding Lam’s squad was regarding whether star loose forward John Asiata would feature with the Dream Team selection having missed Leigh’s last two games.

Asiata has been named in the Leopards 21-man squad but he could still be a game day decision on Friday given that he’s previously been named in the 21, only to miss the match.

The Leopards have also benefitted from Tom Amone’s suspension being dropped meaning he will feature for them alongside the other Dream Team selections of Josh Charnley, Lachlan Lam and Edwin Ipape.

Former Rovers man Frankie Halton makes the squad as well after nursing an injury of late and could line up against his former side.

They’ll face a Rovers side without Dean Hadley who misses out with a calf injury, whilst Rowan Milnes has also been left out with both Jimmy Keinhorst and Rhys Kennedy filling in for an otherwise unchanged side.

Rovers 21 man squad is listed below.

2 – Ethan Ryan
3 – Tom Opacic
4 – Shaun Kenny-Dowall
5 – Ryan Hall, Jordan Abdull
7 – Jordan Abdull
8 – Sauaso Sue
9 – Matt Parcell
10 – George King
12 – Kane Linnett
13 – Elliot Minchella
14 – Jez Litten
15 – Rhys Kennedy
16 – James Batchelor
17 – Matty Storton
18 – Jimmy Keinhorst
20 – Mikey Lewis
23 – Louis Senior
26 – Sam Luckley
27 – Yusuf Aydin
34 – Jack Walker
37 – Brad Schneider