Connect with us

Rugby League News

Shaun Wane names England squad with Grand Final winner left out

England are set to face Tonga this afternoon in the first game of an historic three test series and Shaun Wane has now named his matchday squad which sees Grand Final winning captain Liam Farrell left out.

With no George Williams courtesy of his ban picked up during his time at Warrington Wolves it meant a change of captain with Wane confirming St Helens star Jack Welsby would skipper the team.

It also begged the question of who would star in the halves given Williams absence and now it’s been confirmed that Hull KR’s Mikey Lewis will debut alongside Grand Final winner Harry Smith.

With Dom Young’s injury it means that Man of Steel nominee Tom Johnstone makes his first England appearance since 2018.

From the 24-man squad that was named it had previously been narrowed down to 19 with Young and Williams absent alongside Ben Currie, Tyler Dupree and Matty Ashton.

The seventeen has now been named and the pair that miss out from that 19 man squad are Grand Final winning captain Liam Farrell and Leigh Leopards’ Robbie Mulhern.

Mulhern had been recalled to the side with the possibility of playing his first game for England in five years but he misses out with Wane favouring the experience of Tom Burgess and Mike McMeeken as his starting props.

Daryl Clark gets the start ahead of former Warrington teammate Danny Walker with the young hooker on the bench alongside three forwards Morgan Knowles, Matty Lees and Chris Hill.

Captain Welsby will anchor a backline of Tommy Makinson, Harry Newman, Toby King and Tom Johnstone.

Debutant Lewis pairs Harry Smith in the halves whilst it’s new St Helens signing Daryl Clark who takes the hooking role ahead of former teammate Danny Walker.

The forward pack boasts four NRL stars in it with Mike McMeeken the sole Super League player alongside Tom Burgess, John Bateman, Elliot Whitehead and Victor Radley.

That means that Liam Farrell misses out and is 18th man with a bench of Walker, Knowles, Lees and Hill.

As for the Tongan side there is no Konrad Hurrell however departing Saints star Will Hopoate starts at full-back, whilst Huddersfield Giants playmaker Tui Lolohea features in the halves.

England 17-man squad

Jack Welsby
Tommy Makinson
Harry Newman
Toby King
Tom Johnstone
Mikey Lewis
Harry Smith
Tom Burgess
Daryl Clark
Mike McMeeken
John Bateman
Elliot Whitehead
Victor Radley
Danny Walker
Morgan Knowles
Matty Lees
Chris Hill

Tonga 17-man squad

Will Hopoate
Starford Toa
Will Penisini
Moses Suli
Tolutau Koula
Tui Lolohea
Isaiya Katoa
Addin Fonua-Blake
Siliva Havili
Moeaki Fotuaika
Tyson Firzell
Keon Koloamatangi
Felise Kaufusia
Dion Teaupa
Tevita Tatola
Haumole Olakau’atu
Hame Sele

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Rugby League News