Connect with us

Super League

Your team’s best chance at winning the Man of Steel: St Helens

Rugby league is littered with prestigious awards.

There is the golden boot award for the best international player, the Harry Sunderland Award is given to the man who stands out in the Super League Grand Final, the Lance Todd trophy goes to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

But the Steve Prescott Man of Steel is the biggest individual honour a Super League player can pick up.

In most sports, the player of the year exclusively goes to a team from the Champions, but not in rugby league.

In 2022 the Man of Steel came from sixth, in 2020 from eighth and in 2011 the Man of Steel winner finished ninth in the league.

So, any team can have a player who wins the Man of Steel so we’re looking at every club’s biggest chance at winning the honour in 2023.

So, which St Helens player stands out as their best chance at winning the Man of Steel?

As the Champions, St Helens undoubtedly have the most candidates in Super League which perhaps works against them in the running for the accolade.

However, there is perhaps one man you would expect to win the Man of Steel within the next years.

That is of course Jack Welsby. He made the top three in 2022 and is only going to get better especially if he can settle back into his fullback role.

The next big star of Super League is St Helens’ best chance at winning the Man of Steel in 2023.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Super League