Connect with us

Super League

Your club’s best chance at winning the Man of Steel in 2023: Wigan Warriors

Rugby league is littered with prestigious awards.

There is the golden boot award for the best international player, the Harry Sunderland Award is given to the man who stands out in the Super League Grand Final, the Lance Todd trophy goes to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

But the Steve Prescott Man of Steel is the biggest individual honour a Super League player can pick up.

In most sports, the player of the year exclusively goes to a team from the Champions, but not in rugby league.

In 2022 the Man of Steel came from sixth, in 2020 from eighth and in 2011 the Man of Steel winner finished ninth in the league.

So, any team can have a player who wins the Man of Steel so we’re looking at every club’s biggest chance at winning the honour in 2023.

So, which Wigan Warriors player stands out as their best chance at winning the Man of Steel?

There are two clear picks in the shape of superstars Jai Field and Bevan French. They light up Super League scoring tries galore and often combining to create highlights reels.

However, halfbacks Harry Smith and Cade Cust could be considered as having an outside chance of winning the award too.

Nonetheless, it is Field who stands out as having the biggest chance. At fullback, he is in a position where he can stand out week in and week out.

He also scores and creates tries for fun. Many believe he should have won the award in 2022. So, in 2023 he could pick up the honour.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League