Connect with us

Super League

Your club’s best chance at winning the Man of Steel in 2023: Warrington Wolves

Rugby league is littered with prestigious awards.

There is the golden boot award for the best international player, the Harry Sunderland Award is given to the man who stands out in the Super League Grand Final, the Lance Todd trophy goes to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

But the Steve Prescott Man of Steel is the biggest individual honour a Super League player can pick up.

In most sports, the player of the year exclusively goes to a team from the Champions, but not in rugby league.

In 2022 the Man of Steel came from sixth, in 2020 from eighth and in 2011 the Man of Steel winner finished ninth in the league.

So, any team can have a player who wins the Man of Steel so we’re looking at every club’s biggest chance at winning the honour in 2023.

So, which Warrington Wolves player stands out as their best chance at winning the Man of Steel?

In 2022, we saw what a fullback with bags of pace can do in Super League as Jai Field devastated the league.

In the eyes of many, he should have been the Man of Steel. In 2023, having already had a taste of Super League in 2022, Matt Dufty could have very similar success to Field with huge amounts of pace as well.

Yes, if George Williams continues his World Cup form, he too could be in the running for the award such is his world class ability, but Dufty is set to truly catch the eye in 2o23.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League