Connect with us

Super League

Your club’s best chance at winning the Man of Steel award: Wakefield Trinity

Rugby league is littered with prestigious awards.

There is the golden boot award for the best international player, the Harry Sunderland Award is given to the man who stands out in the Super League Grand Final, the Lance Todd trophy goes to the Man of the Match in the Challenge Cup Final.

But the Steve Prescott Man of Steel is the biggest individual honour a Super League player can pick up.

In most sports, the player of the year exclusively goes to a team from the Champions, but not in rugby league.

In 2022 the Man of Steel came from sixth, in 2020 from eighth and in 2011 the Man of Steel winner finished ninth in the league.

So, any team can have a player who wins the Man of Steel so we’re looking at every club’s biggest chance at winning the honour in 2023.

So, which Wakefield Trinity player stands out as their best chance at winning the Man of Steel?

No Wakefield player has won the Man of Steel in Super League and with Trinity tipped to struggle, that would remain the case however they look like a club set to surprise a few in 2023.

But who would their best bet be to win the Man of Steel?

Perhaps it would be young Lewis Murphy. Surely a candidate for the Young Player of the Year, if Wakefield upset the odds in 2023 and he scores the match winning tries you’d expect, he could very well scoop the award even if it seems unlikely at this stage.

New signing Renouf Atoni would also have a good chance if he steers Wakefield to success in 2023.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League