York v Wigan: Predicted line-ups and late injury news

In an eye-catching tie, a re-vamped York City Knights team test themselves against last year’s Super League Grand Finalists. The Knights raised some eyebrows with their off-season recruitment and are predicted to push for promotion this year and will be hoping to make an impression against the Warriors. Wigan have started the season with 2 wins from 2 and wish to return to Wembley for the first time since 2017.

There will be a fair bit of change in York’s line-up. Kriss Brining and Morgan Smith are both absent through injury and will be joined experienced quartet Danny Kirmond, Chris Clarkson, Jack Teanby and Jordan Baldwinson. That means three youngsters have come into the squad including Myles Harrison who’ll likely start in the halves. York have a fair share of Challenge Cup Final experience in their squad however. Ryan Atkins, who won the cup in 2010 and 2012, will start at centre, 2011 and 2012 finalist Ben Jones-Bishop will be on the wing as will 2015 runner-up Kieran Dixon. Meanwhile 2020 winner Adam Cuthbertson will also feature.

Wigan have a few youngsters in their squad however look set to play their their strongest available 17. That said I can see youngster Sam Halsall coming in at centre to resolve the conundrum in that position at least for this week. It is possible that the likes of Jackson Hastings or John Bateman could be rested but just two games into the season I believe Adrian Lam will field them to continue to get them up to speed. Jai Field, Liam Marshall, Dom Manfredi and Oliver Gildart are still missing through injury whilst Bevan French is still not ready to return.


1 Matty Marsh

23 Ben Jones-Bishop

30 Tyme Dow-Nikau

4 Ryan Atkins

5 Kieran Dixon

6 Brendan O’Hagan

26 Myles Harrison

13 Adam Cuthbertson

9 Will Jubb

19 James Green

3 Liam Salter

16 Marcus Stock

20 Tim Spears


12 Sam Scott

21 Joe Porter

24 Dan Barcoe

28 Danny Washbrook


3 Zak Hardaker

30 Umyla Hanley

11 Willie Isa

28 Sam Halsall

22 Jake Bibby

7 Thomas Leuluai

31 Jackson Hastings

8 Brad Singleton

9 Sam Powell

10 Joe Bullock

12 Liam Farrell

13 John Bateman

14 Ollie Partington


15 Morgan Smithies

19 Liam Byrne

20 Harry Smith

21 Ethan Havard

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments