Connect with us

Super League

Would these be the first 10 players inducted into a Super League Hall of Fame?

The Serious About Rugby League team came together earlier this week to discuss a Super League Hall of Fame, and if there ever was one, who the first 10 inductees would be.

See the players we collectively decided on, in reverse order, listed below.

Note: Only players that are now retired have been considered for selection.

10. Robbie Hunter-Paul

RHP arrived at Bradford Bulls in 1994. He would score a hat-trick and claim the Lance Todd Trophy in the 1996 Challenge Cup Final and became a legend of the summer era, winning four Super League titles and two Challenge Cups with the Bulls, ending his career with well over 300 appearances.

Robbie Paul helped Bradford to four Super League titles between 1997 and 2005. Credit: David Greaves/ News Images

9. Sean Long

Sean Long was quite the character with his wacky hairstyles, but it was his performances on the pitch that really caught the eye. He arrived at St Helens via Wigan and Widnes, going on to become a legend in the Red Vee, scoring 2200 points in over 300 appearances. Long’s individual trophy haul included three Lance Todd showings and a Man of Steel, while on the team front he attained four Super League titles and five Challenge Cups.

Sean Long enjoyed a trophy-laden career with St Helens. Credit: News Images

8. Keiron Cunningham

Once the ‘king’ of Knowsley Road, Keiron Cunningham is arguably the greatest hooker to ever grace Super League. Renowned for his trademark barge overs from acting half, Cunningham incredibly won seven Challenge Cups and five Super League titles in a trophy-laden career.

7. Paul Wellens

Next up is another multiple Super League champion in Paul Wellens. Having served his full 18-year stint with St Helens, he featured in five Challenge Cup final victories, winning the Lance Todd Trophy twice. The reliable full-back also won five Grand Finals, claiming the Man of Steel and the Harry Sunderland awards in 2006.

Paul Wellens played 500 games for St Helens over 18 years with the club. Credit: Craig Thomas/News Images

6. Kevin Sinfield

Winning silverware and scoring points was second nature to Kevin Sinfield and under his captaincy, Leeds won seven Grand Finals in 12 seasons. Amassing a staggering 3443 Super League points, Sinfield was ultra consistent and the ultimate pro, even finishing runner-up to Andy Murray in the 2015 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

Kevin Sinfield ended his Leeds playing career by captaining them to the treble. Credit: Mark Cosgrove/News Images

5. Danny McGuire

3. Lesley Vainikolo

Bradford juggernaut Lesley Vainikolo is one of the cult figures of the noughties in Super League. The volcano won two Super League titles and a Challenge Cup with the Bulls, scoring tries and producing big moments in big games. He also set a new record for tries in a regular season (36) in 2004, matched by the aforementioned McGuire.

2. Andrew Farrell

Tough and uncompromising, former Wigan skipper Andrew Farrell was the first ever Super League Man of Steel winner, the first player to captain a Grand Final-winning team and was almost an ever-present in the Super League Dream Team. Having scored over 3000 points during his 14 seasons with the Warriors, Farrell is a legend of both club and country.

1. Jamie Peacock

The competition’s most successful player takes top spot. Jamie Peacock won nine Super League titles, four Challenge Cups and was named in the Super League Dream Team on 11 occasions across his time with both Leeds and Bradford. Named the 2003 Man of Steel, Peacock was unrelenting and his performance level never dropped, even in his final years. Peacock’s achievements and success in Super League will probably never be topped.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League