Wingers confirmed and one huge absentee as Shaun Wane picks his England squad for quarter-final clash

England Head Coach Shaun Wane has named the 19-man squad for Saturday’s RLWC2021 Quarter Final against Papua New Guinea at Wigan Warriors’ DW Stadium (230pm kick-off).

Captain Sam Tomkins, centres Kallum Watkins and Herbie Farnworth, and forwards Michael McIlorum and Elliott Whitehead return to the squad after missing last Saturday’s final group fixture against Greece.

There are a few surprise absentees. Shaun Wane has confirmed his wing selections it seems as Ryan Hall is left out whilst there is no place for Salford Red Devils hooker Andy Ackers. This perhaps leaves a window of opportunity for Marc Sneyd to play in the halves.

Surprisingly, for the second game in a row, there is no Luke Thompson.

It will be England’s third World Cup match against the Kumuls, following victories in a group match in Townsville in 2008, and at the same Quarter Final stage in Melbourne in 2017.

The match completes a double header at the DW Stadium, following the second group match for England Women, against Canada (midday kick-off). England’s 19-woman squad for that match was named earlier today.

1 Sam Tomkins
2 Tommy Makinson
3 Kallum Watkins
4 Herbie Farnworth
6 Jack Welsby
7 George Williams
8 Tom Burgess
9 Micky McIlorum
11 Elliott Whitehead
12 John Bateman
13 Victor Radley
14 Dom Young
15 Morgan Knowles
16 Matty Lees
17 Mike Cooper
18 Chris Hill
20 Mike McMeeken
21 Marc Sneyd
24 Kai Pearce-Paul

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments