Wigan Warriors v Catalans Dragons: Preview

Wigan Warrington combined team

Wigan host Catalans at the DW Stadium on Sunday afternoon as they look to use their game in hand to move up to third above Salford. The Warriors face a Dragons side looking to continue their three-match winning streak which has included two away victories, another win on Sunday will take the French outfit level on points with their opponents.

The Warriors come into the game after two wins over Easter against arch-rivals St Helens and most recently against Wakefield on Monday. They were pushed all the way by Trinity on Monday with a late Liam Marshall try sealing the victory for the Champions and now they face another tough test against the in-form Dragons.

Wigan have made two changes to the squad that beat Wakefield with Joel Tomkins (foot) and Anthony Gelling (suspended) withdrawing; they are replaced by Michael McIlorum and Joe Burgess who featured against Saints but sat out against Wakefield.

Catalans travel to the DW Stadium in terrific form after wins away at Leigh and Huddersfield, not to mention an impressive Easter Monday performance at home to the high-flying Salford Red Devils. Their recent run has propelled them up the Super League table and now they have their sights sent on the top four.

In a big blow to Laurent Frayssinous, key players Krisnan Inu and Justin Horo miss out through injury and are replaced by Alrix Da Costa and Ugo Perez.

Wigan Squad: Joe Bretherton, Joe Burgess, Tom Davies, Morgan Escaré, Liam Farrell, Ben Flower, Liam Forsyth, Nick Gregson, Willie Isa, Tommy Leuluai, Liam Marshall, Michael McIlorum, Romain Navarrete, Frank-Paul Nuuausala, Sean O’Loughlin, Sam Powell, Ryan Sutton, Taulima Tautai, George Williams.

Catalans Squad: Tony Gigot, Fouad Yaha, Luke Walsh, Richard Myler, Sam Moa, Paul Aiton, Rémi Casty, Louis Anderson, Julian Bousquet, Ben Garcia, Thomas Bosc, Vincent Duport, Mickael Simon, Iain Thornley, Lucas Albert, Alrix Da Costa, Thibaud Margalet, Lambert Belmas, Ugo Perez.

Referee: Gareth Hewer

Touch-judges: A Martin and P Brooke