Connect with us

Super League

Wigan Warriors reveal new club captain for 2023

Wigan Warriors have confirmed that Liam Farrell will take on the captaincy in 2023 following the retirement of Thomas Leuluai.

He becomes the third Wigan captain in four seasons.

In 2020, after years in the role and winning four Grand Finals as skipper which is the joint second most in Super League history, Sean O’Loughlin retired after being on the wrong end of a superb Grand Final against St Helens.

Thomas Leuluai subsequently took over leading the club to a record 20th Challenge Cup in 2022 as he came off the bench after recovering from injury and played a key role in their triumph.

That day he lifted the trophy alongside Farrell who now takes over as skipper unsurprisingly.

Farrell made his debut in 2010 and has been part of every Wigan side to be victorious in a Grand Final in the 21st century even picking up the Harry Sunderland Award in 2016 as Man of the Match in their 12-6 win over Warrington.

He was a double winner in 2013 and also claimed the Challenge Cup in 2011 at the expense of Leeds Rhinos.

All told, he has won 11 trophies with the Warriors.

He is no stranger to a big moment and is one of the sport’s best ever try scoring forwards.

One of his most famous tries was a dramatic derby day winner over St Helens in 2011 at the DW Stadium.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League