Connect with us

Super League

Wigan v Wakefield: Squads Announced

Wigan and Wakefield have both announced their 21-man squads for Friday night’s Super League fixture at the Halliwell Jones Stadium (KO 8:15pm).

The two clubs last met in August, with the Warriors surviving a late scare to claim a 23-22 victory.

Since then, however, they have had contrasting fortunes – Wigan progressed to the semi-finals of the Challenge Cup last week after winning three out of four league games, while Wakefield have lost all five games since the restart, with the most recent being a 29-6 Yorkshire derby defeat to Huddersfield.

Wigan Warriors

Adrian Lam makes three changes to his side, with forwards Ben Flower and Liam Byrne, and centre Chris Hankinson back in contention. They replace Dom Manfredi, who suffered a head knock last week, Mitch Clark and Harry Rushton.

21-man squad: 1 Zak Hardaker, 3 Chris Hankinson, 4 Oliver Gildart, 5 Joe Burgess, 6 Bevan French, 7 Thomas Leuluai, 9 Sam Powell, 11 Willie Isa, 12 Liam Farrell, 13 Sean O’Loughlin, 14 Ben Flower, 15 Joe Greenwood, 17 Ollie Partington, 20 Liam Byrne, 23 Jake Bibby, 28 Harry Smith, 29 Jack Wells, 30 Ethan Havard, 31 Jackson Hastings, 32 Amir Bourouh, 33 Joe Shorrocks.

Wakefield Trinity

Wakefield are only able to name a 20-man squad due to having several players unavailable. The good news for Chris Chester is that Tom Johnstone is back from an arm injury that has kept him out in recent weeks. Captain Jacob Miller, David Fifita and Alex Walker also return, with Eddie Battye, Liam Kay, Ryan Hampshire and Connor Bailey among those dropping out.

21-man squad: 1 Alex Walker, 2 Tom Johnstone, 3 Bill Tupou, 4 Reece Lyne, 5 Ben Jones-Bishop, 6 Jacob Miller, 8 David Fifita, 9 Kyle Wood, 10 Tinirau Arona, 11 Matty Ashurst, 13 Joe Westerman, 14 Jay Pitts, 15 Craig Kopczak, 17 Chris Green, 18 Adam Tangata, 19 Jordy Crowther, 25 Brad Walker, 36 Kelepi Tanginoa, 37 Romain Navarrete, 39 Tony Gigot.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Super League