Wigan v Hull FC: Squads Announced

Wigan and Hull FC have both announced their 21-man squads for Thursday night’s Super League semi-final play-off fixture at the DW Stadium (KO 7:45pm).

The winner will progress to the Grand Final, where they will face the winner of Friday’s clash between St Helens and Catalans to be crowned Super League champions.

It will be the first time the Warriors have returned to their home ground since before lockdown, having played the majority of this year’s games on the road.

They will also go into the game benefitting from an extra week’s rest, having progressed straight through to this stage after winning the League Leaders Shield two weeks ago.

The Black and Whites, meanwhile, upset the odds with a 27-14 win over Warrington last week, despite coming into the play-offs as the lowest ranked team.

A victory over Wigan would see them become the first club to play a Grand Final at their home ground, with this year’s showpiece event having been relocated to the KCOM Stadium instead of Old Trafford.

Wigan Warriors

Captain Sean O’Loughlin returns for the Warriors as he aims for a swansong finish to his career. He is one of two changes made by Adrian Lam, with Amir Bourouh also being recalled. Dom Manfredi and Sam Powell drop out.

21-man squad: 1 Zak Hardaker, 3 Chris Hankinson, 4 Oliver Gildart, 5 Joe Burgess, 6 Bevan French, 7 Thomas Leuluai, 8 Tony Clubb, 10 George Burgess, 11 Willie Isa, 12 Liam Farrell, 13 Sean O’Loughlin, 14 Ben Flower, 16 Morgan Smithies, 17 Ollie Partington, 19 Joe Bullock, 20 Liam Byrne, 23 Jake Bibby, 28 Harry Smith, 31 Jackson Hastings, 32 Amir Bourouh, 38 Brad Singleton.

Hull FC

There’s just one change for FC, with young prop Jack Brown replacing Josh Jones. The likes of Jamie Shaul, Gareth Ellis and Adam Swift all remain unavailable.

21-man squad: 2 Bureta Faraimo, 3 Carlos Tuimavave, 4 Josh Griffin, 6 Jake Connor, 7 Marc Sneyd, 8 Scott Taylor, 9 Danny Houghton, 10 Tevita Satae, 12 Manu Ma’u, 13 Ligi Sao, 15 Joe Cator, 16 Jordan Johnstone, 20 Brad Fash, 21 Jordan Lane, 22 Josh Bowden, 23 Andre Savelio, 24 Mahe Fonua, 30 Jack Brown, 31 Cameron Scott, 33 Ratu Naulago, 35 Ben McNamara.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments