Whitehaven vs St Helens: Kick-off time, TV channel and predicted line-ups

The Super League Champions are in town as the reigning cup holders make the trip over to Whitehaven as the Championship club are treated to the draw of the round.

Whitehaven defied the odds throughout 2021 to make the Championship play-offs, so they have the character to battle the Champions all over the pitch in what should be a fantastic occasion.

For the all-conquering St Helens, they’ll have their eyes set on a clean sweep of silverware in 2022 and Whitehaven represent simply the first obstacle in their way.

Kick-off time and TV channel

The game kicks off at 14:00.

Coverage will be streamed by Sportsman. Check out their Twitter for more details.

Predicted Line-ups
Whitehaven have virtually their strongest squad available except for Kieran Hudson who is unavailable due to the agreements surrounding his loan from Castleford Tigers. Guy Graham is still in the mix despite his two-match ban which does not take effect until the next round of the Championship. He started Whitehaven’s win in the last round of the cup and could very well keep his place in the starting 13 today. Alex Bishop, grandson of Tommy Bishop who won the Challenge Cup with St Helens, will line up against the Saints.

1 Geronimo Doyle
22 Josh Martin
4 Will Evans
6 Karl Dixon
5 Andrew Bulman
23 Alex Bishop
7 Nikau Williams
10 Tom Walker
9 Callum Phillips
18 Guy Graham
11 Ryan King
15 Connor Holliday
16 Tom Wilkinson
8 Liam McAvoy
13 Dion Aiye
17 Andrew Dawson
20 Jake Bradley

St Helens
For St Helens, this is the perfect re-introduction for Regan Grace. The Welsh wizard is back from injury and will return in place of Josh Simm. There is a blow at prop with Matty Lees joining Alex Walmsley on the sidelines meaning Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook will likely move into the front row with Morgan Knowles returning to 13 and Joe Batchelor stepping into the backrow as he returns to the side. Dan Norman will keep his place in the 17 after scoring in France last week and possibly could be joined by the likes of Ben Davies, Sam Royale, Jon Bennison and Lewis Baxter.

1 Jack Welsby
2 Tommy Makinson
23 Konrad Hurrell
4 Mark Percival
5 Regan Grace
6 Jonny Lomax
7 Lewis Dodd
17 Agnatius Paasi
9 James Roby
15 Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook
16 Curtis Sironen
12 Joe Batchelor
13 Morgan Knowles
14 Joey Lussick
18 Kyle Amor
19 Jake Wingfield
24 Dan Norman

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments