Connect with us


When Shaun Wane’s England World Cup squad will be announced and who we’re predicting to make the cut

It’s nearly the day we’ve been waiting for since the culmination of the Betfred Super League on Saturday, as Shaun Wane names the 24 men he intends to lead into battle for England at the Rugby League World Cup.

Wane will name his squad for the tournament on home soil this Friday morning at 10.30am, with rugby league fans eager to know who has made the cut.

Whilst a handful of stars who would have been certainties for the tournament are injured, such as Harry Newman, Liam Farrell and Alex Walmsley, there are still injury doubts over a number of other players.

Jonny Lomax and Mark Percival have now joined the list of injured players. This could see Marc Sneyd or Harry Smith included instead.

Wane will also have a big decision to make on Jackson Hastings. Hastings hasn’t been involved with international rugby since representing Great Britain in 2019. He has fought back from injury to be in contention but should Jonny Lomax be cleared to play and assuming Wane sticks by Jack Welsby and George Williams as his other options, it’s likely Hastings will miss the cut.

St Helens will be the most represented side in the squad after claiming a fourth consecutive title, but neither Mark Percival or Lomax who went into the title decider against Leeds with injuries will feature.

Speaking of the Rhinos, Ash Handley and Kruise Leeming have a chance of making the cut but are likely to miss out. Because of the form of NRL star Dominic Young, who has not been selected in the Jamaica squad in a curious twist, Handley may miss out alongside the free-scoring Liam Marshall.

Leeming faces a battle with Michael McIlorum, Daryl Clark, Paul McShane and Andy Ackers for a place in the squad. On form Ackers has to make the cut along with Salford teammate Kallum Watkins.

James Roby is unlikely to come out of international retirement to play despite hopes that he would.

There will be a sizeable NRL contingent playing for the first time under Wane for England.

Predicted 24-man squad: Morgan Knowles, Tommy Makinson, Jack Welsby, Matty Lees, Joe Batchelor (St Helens); John Bateman, Mike Cooper, Harry Smith (Wigan Warriors); Mikolaj Oledzki (Leeds Rhinos); Ryan Sutton, Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders); Sam Tomkins, Michael McIlorum, Mike McMeeken (Catalans Dragons); Herbie Farnworth (Brisbane Broncos); Victor Radley, Oliver Gildart (Sydney Roosters); Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs); Ryan Hall (Hull KR); Luke Thompson (Canterbury-Bankstown); Dominic Young (Newcastle Knights); George Williams (Warrington Wolves); Andy Ackers, Kallum Watkins (Salford Red Devils)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Features