Warrington Wolves vs Wakefield Trinity: Kick-off time, TV channel and predicted line-ups

Warrington and Wakefield butt heads for the second week in a row this time in the Challenge Cup.

Last week, Wakefield shocked the Wolves handing the Wire a third consecutive defeat and picking up a second win in a row themselves.

Warrington have a superb recent history in this competition playing in six of the last 13 finals and winning the competition an impressive four times since 2009. To continue this, they’ll have to defeat an in form Wakefield side and end their own poor form.

Kick-off time and TV channel

The game kicks off at 14:00.

Coverage starts at 13:30 on Premier Sports.

Predicted Line-ups

Warrington Wolves
The big conundrum for Daryl Powell to solve is what to do at fullback with Stefan Ratchford out injured. One of the two men who started on the wing last week will move to the number one spot whilst Josh Charnley’s return will thankfully cover either Matty Ashton or Josh Thewlis’ move to the back. There’s a boost in the pack for Warrington too with Billy Magoulias returning alongside hooker Daryl Clark. I also fancy Powell to go for a more conventional front row this week having started four backrowers last week.

5 Matty Ashton
2 Josh Charnley
3 Peter Mata’utia
4 Toby King
22 Josh Thewlis
6 Gareth Widdop
7 George Williams
8 Joe Philbin
16 Danny Walker
10 Mike Cooper
11 Ben Currie
12 Oliver Holmes
13 Jack Hughes
9 Daryl Clark
14 Jason Clark
17 Matt Davis
18 Billy Magoulias

Wakefield Trinity
Wakefield will also have a change at fullback with Morgan Escare unavailable but Max Jowitt. Tom Johnstone’s injury leaves Wakefield without either of their first choice wingers meaning young Lewis Murphy will likely join Liam Kay on the wings. On the back of an impressive win last week, the vast majority of the side will stay the same.

1 Max Jowitt
19 Liam Kay
4 Reece Lyne
30 Corey Hall
27 Lewis Murphy
6 Jacob Miller
7 Mason Lino
10 Tinirau Arona
9 Liam Hood
35 David Fifita
11 Matty Ashurst
13 Jay Pitts
14 Jordy Crowther
8 Eddie Battye
12 Kelepi Tanginoa
15 Jai Whitbread
16 James Batchelor

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments